top of page
  • Writer's pictureultramadlizzie

Overall FKT on Rownd Mynydd Du (Black Mountains Round)

Updated: May 21, 2023

Date: Saturday 6th May 2022

Strava says: 69.62 miles

Elevation: 14,311 ft / 4,362 m

Weather: Constant rain

Start: Scout hut in Abergavenny

Route type: Circular

Conditions: Very, very wet and foggy

Website link: Rownd Mynydd Du (Black Mountains Round)


Describe the route in three words: runnable mountain fun

Rownd Mynydd Du (Black Mountains Round) - Race Report

My alarm was set for 4.45am. I had nervous / excitedly been waiting all night in my bed for sleep to happen, which it did not. I gave up at 4.30am and got out of bed, forgetting to turn my alarm off. I tried to get ready as quietly as possible but the floorboards refused to help me on the matter. I headed to the bathroom, and on my return, found my alarm on my bed. Opps. It had gone off and poor Debbie had jumped out of bed to switch it off!


I’d booked a lovely cottage on Airbnb in Blaenavon for my crew and I to stay in. The Mangan crew are husband and wife team Debbie and Adam and their two sons, Fraser 12 and Angus 10. I crept downstairs and managed to knock everything crashing over on the drying rack as I not-so-silently prepared my breakfast. After eating I did some stretches and left an apologetic note for my noisiness (along with all my washing up in the sink!) and drove to Abergavenny. I was alarmed to see the car park swamped by a huge fun fair and them immediately relieved to turn in and discover that there were in fact car parking spaces available. I pulled up the parking app to pay for 24 hours parking, added my husband and Brett to the WhatsApp group and then sent a few panic texts wondering if the tracker was working or not. The weather was mild and dry. My word, the moment had finally come! I’d made the decision to run Rownd Mynydd Du in the summer of 2022 (just a few weeks after completing the Gwynne-Harris Round) and had been prepping, recceing and training since January. I felt good, as mountain fit as I could hope to be and I felt confident in my training, I had definitely put the work in.


It’s hard to work out an estimated completion time but I produced a schedule based on the time it took me to run each recce, as this seemed to have worked well for Gwynne-Harris, where I had come in a couple of hours faster than the schedule. I was quite alarmed to see the finish time for Rownd Mynydd Du coming out as 19 hours and 35 minutes, that would be faster than Brett’s time, sure he’d done it in the winter but it seemed impossible to be able to beat his time. I decided that I would try to stick to the schedule until the wheels fell off. What with the route being so runnable, I felt that this was a likely scenario and I would burn out by going too fast at the beginning.

Scout hut in Abergavenny
Abergavenny scout hut marks the start of Rownd Mynydd Du

Leg 1 - Abergavenny to Waun Fach Forge - 16 miles

5.58am, my FKT attempt commenced. Setting off for Sugarloaf on fresh legs, I knew I could be there in less than an hour. Somewhere along the way, the drizzle started. It was the sort of rain that you don’t really notice but then you realise you are soaked through. There was fog too, plenty of it. I’d planned to not get my poles out until the Table Mountain climb and sure enough, I scampered up Sugarloaf easily on my fresh legs, grateful to my taper and my sports massage I'd had on Thursday. I spotted what I thought could be another runner coming towards me through the fog but he turned and disappeared back into the white cloud. I had wondered for a moment if Brett and Bryn would still do their morning run and maybe it was them! I happily took a selfie at the trig and popped it in the WhatsApp group. Sugarloaf 6.49am, 1 down, 24 to go!

Sugarloaf
Sugarloaf - 1 down, 24 to go!

I’d been really looking forward to the Sugarloaf descent but found the first bit a tad tricky, due to the fog I couldn’t just point and shoot, i.e look ahead and run to the point I needed, I had to rely heavily on my gpx. I managed to pick a route that seemed to require a lot of clambering over and around rocks but once through that section I flew down the hill. My plan with Gwynne-Harris had been just to complete, my plan today was entirely different, I knew I could complete it so I wanted to run it efficiently and in a time I could be proud of. I knew that running with more confidence on the downs would make a huge difference so I attacked this one! The gpx route took me a different way to Llanbedr than the one I was familiar with and threw me a little off guard. It was much better than the way I’d expected to go though. I passed the Red Lion which marks the start and finish of the Black Mountains Circular and headed up the lane, thinking back to when I overtook the lady who had been in third on the Beast of the Blacks, I’d been determined to get that podium finish!


I struggled to get my poles out as one of them had caught on something so I had to remove my snack pack to do so, I don’t think it wasted any time, it was just a bit irritating. I passed Perth Y Pia

which had numerous un-touched (and very colourful) cocktails outside, the guests were clearly enjoying the King’s Coronation weekend! I reached the cairn of Table Mountain at 7.49am, exactly an hour after Sugarloaf. As I ran beyond it, the wind and rain smacked me in the face and it was at this moment I realised just how soaking wet I was. I still felt a good temperature though and pondered whether I would need to stop to put a layer on or not.

Table Mountain
Table Mountain

Brett had worked out a much better line for me to be able to make Mynydd Llangors and Mynydd Troed part of a circular route rather than his initial out and back so I switched the route on my watch over to the improved line. I needed to run as far as Mynydd Llysiau then head down to Waun Fach forge. I got to Pen Cerrig Calch at 8.14am and then wondered if I really wanted to do a selfie at each summit, it was miserable weather and I wasn’t sure exposing my phone to it (and standing still) was a good idea. By the time I got to Pen Allt Mawr and Pen Twyn Glas, I’d decided selfies at each summit were not required!

Pen Cerrig Calch
Pen Cerrig Calch

I had around 2 - 3 miles until the turn off at Mynydd Llysiau and was becoming increasingly aware of just how wet I was and borderline cold too. I’d also not eaten anything. I felt it best to just take the risk and keep on moving, stopping to get my waterproof on and put over sodden clothes didn’t seem like a great idea and I was sure waiting to eat until the checkpoint would be fine, I suddenly became very motivated by the warm porridge pot and decaf tea waiting for me, I then started obsessing over biscuits and planned to eat vast quantities of them!


At Mynydd Llysiau I planned to text the group with my eta (9.30am), but the weather was so yuck I took a mental note of the time and decided to head down off the hill a bit first so I could use my phone in slightly more sheltered conditions. There is no track here other than the sheep tracks and a super steep bit so I got that done before getting my phone out. Turns out my fingers weren’t working so well and it took me an age to make one of them press down on the button!


As I got lower the visibility improved and I was finally able to see the gate that I needed to pass through. Across a field, through another gate and then onwards towards the lane. I’d struggled with this last time and had to do this small section of the route backwards as the footpath is very well hidden. Sadly though, I hadn’t factored in just how many gates there are along the lane and I climbed over two wrong ones before I got the right one. I still was a bit unsure as the style is in the corner of the field and impossible to see until you’re practically on it. I was so glad of the recce as without it, this section would have been much trickier. I carefully climbed the next rickety style and picked my way down the rotten and slippery steps and arrived at Waun Fach forge, half an hour ahead of schedule and with no crew anywhere to be seen.


The rain was still pouring and I knew I needed to sort out my upper body, legs will just have to remain wet for now. I took my sodden top off and pulled on my lovely dry one, quickly protecting it with my waterproof. I pulled out a bar and sent a text to say I’d head on without them. I saw there was no service. I hung around a bit unsure if I was making a good or a bad choice but my rapidly decreasing body temperature prompted me to set off.

Estimated time: 4 hours / Actual time: 3 hours 31 minutes

Estimated arrival time: 10am / Actual arrival time: 9.33am

Schedule: ahead by 27 minutes

Time in checkpoint: 7 minutes (I had allowed 15 minutes for this one and no time for Pengenfford, planning to fly through)

Leg 2 - Waun Fach Forge to Pengenfford - 6 miles

As I power hiked up the lane munching my bar, I had many thoughts running through my head. I knew no signal meant no tracking so what would Debbie and Adam do? Would they wait for me or figure out I must have passed through? Would one wait at Waun Fach and the other go on to Pengenfford? Would they drive around until they got signal? The climb up Mynydd Llangors got steeper and snaked around. It flattens out for a bit and just as I broke back into a run my phone went crazy, blinging and beeping. Multiple missed call text messages, two voicemails and a handful of WhatsApp messages. I immediately rang Deb and was relieved to hear that they had gone straight on to Pengenfford once finally arriving at Waun Fach forge (they’d got trapped down a single track lane unable to turn around and then once back on the main road flagged down three cars and a tractor to help them find the forge!). I told Deb I’d need to change my pants, leggings, socks and shoes as I was so wet through and that I’d definitely want a cup of decaf tea, sandwich and crisps. We said our goodbyes and it just seemed like a few minutes before I reached the trig of Mynydd Llangors which seemed freshly painted. There’s a lovely bit of ridgeline that follows and then a downhill to a lane before the next climb. I spotted two ladies and excitedly greeted them, informing them that they were the first people I had seen since 6am!


The long climb to Mynydd Troed commenced. This is one of the toughest climbs of the whole run. I’d discovered on my recce that it gets very steep, has a false summit, flattens a bit and then gets steep again. I also knew that there was a cup of tea waiting for me on the other side! I distinctly remember spotting a gorse bush and labelling that as the start of the steep bit but at the same time it would mean I’d done most of the climb (good old bit of positivity thinking!) I paused to take a photo of the trig as it was surrounded by sheep with their lambs in toe, I reached Mynydd Troed at 10.55am.

Mynydd Troed
Mynydd Troed

I knew it would take me around 15 minutes to get to the road crossing then a few more minutes up the lane to get to the meeting point. I started the descent and I was sure I could hear Fraser and Angus cheering me, I waved my poles in the air but also decided I wouldn’t mention anything to them just in case it wasn’t them that I could hear and rather perhaps it was the wind or farm machinery!


Mynydd Troed
You can see me coming down Mynydd Troed!

I could see the Dragon’s Back rising up over the other side of the road, the fog was patchy and it looked like the dragon’s breath, it was stunning and I felt a tingle of excitement for it.


I got to the bottom of the hill, through the gate and along the stone path down to the farm which housed a sea of sloppy mud. I picked my way around it and popped over the road once the coast was clear. Adam was waiting for me at the bottom of the lane and we ran together, he whistled ahead to Debbie and the boys to let them know I was coming in. It was amazing to see their car there, the chair set up for me and Debbie holding a cup of tea.

Pengenfford
A very welcome meal at Pengenfford

Everyone got to work and it was an amazing feeling, Debbie helped me change, even assisting me with my new leggings by rolling them up and guiding my feet into them! I had all sorts handed to me: sandwich, Hula Hoops, decaf tea, biscuits. The boys filled my water bladders for me and it was a real buzzy whirlwind. Deb asked if I had heard the boys cheering me, yes I had! It really had been them and not my imagination after all, they’d been able to see me coming down the hill and were impressed with my speed, which made me grin.


They sent me off on my way again, banana in hand as even though I’d eaten a lot I actually felt hungry.

Dry clothes and ready to go!

Estimated time: 1 hour 30 minutes / Actual time: 1 hour 30 minutes

Estimated arrival time: 11.45am / Actual arrival time: 11.10am

Schedule: ahead by 35 minutes

Time in checkpoint: 26 minutes (I had had allowed no time for this one and 15 minutes for the previous checkpoint)

Leg 3 - Pengenfford to Cadwgan - 12 miles

I was heading for the Dragon’s Back and had discovered during the recce that I was able to run the majority of this. I was actually feeling pretty confident all of a sudden, what with my bone dry shoes and socks on too! I ate the banana and passed through the gate with the beautiful Dragon’s Back rising above me. I headed on up knowing that the first bit I’d walk but a lot of the rest I could run. I ran higher up into the fog which would remain throughout the climb and then the wind really started pushing against me, I had to keep walking. My confidence started to wane away, the wind was making it really hard. I passed a couple of hikers, sploshing through the puddles, my dry feet were short lived!


I realised I was still hungry so pulled out a white chocolate and raspberry flapjack which I’d been really looking forward to. It was horrible! Such a disappointment. I could feel my positivity sliding away so decided to focus on the thought of reaching Waun Fach. I completed Dragon’s Back 5 minutes slower than on the recce, that certainly was a lot more walking! I reached Waun Fach and so began the long ever so slightly downhill stretch to Crug Mawr, it’s around about 6 miles and I had been so looking forward to this. But you know what? It ended up being super frustrating. The ground was a flowing stream intersected by mini waterfalls, slippery rocks, mud and bog. I was having to think about my foot placement the whole way, every now and then the bog would grab hold of my shoe and threatened to rip it off my foot. I really felt like I could go a lot faster but the waterlogged terrain just would not allow, I could not waste too much time feeling frustrated though as I was concentrating so much on picking the best line.

Time flew and I ticked off Pen Y Gadair Fawr and Pen Twyn Mawr before I could finally see the Crug Mawr trig peeking out of the fog. I felt like I had been super slow so told myself if I was there before 2pm, I could take a photo, if I was after I would save time and just carry on. I touched the trig and looked at my watch, spot on 2pm! I took the photo and turned back the way I had come to then take the turning at the fence line. I felt excited to have nearly finished this section already. I recollected how on the Beast of the Blacks there are two steep paths where I felt like I was going fast until a stream of more competent people raced past, today was going to be another slow day through here, the rocks were just so slippery.

Crug Mawr
Crug Mawr

I ran down the road and could see the gate onto the road, I called out a “whoop whoop” but the sound of the river drowned my voice out. I joyfully arrived into the car park at Cadwgan, a big grin on my face.


I went for another change of clothes as I was soaked right through but opted to put my already wet shoes back on as I knew I’d get wet feet almost immediately on the next leg. I put my waterproof trousers on as although the temperature was mild, as it was getting later on in the day I thought the wind and the dropping temperature combined would ensure I felt the cold if I did not wear them.

Team Mangan had my food all ready for me - a whole container of Quorn cocktail sausages, a rice pudding, two cups of caffeinated tea with more biscuits and some Coke.

Cadwgan
Soaking wet at Cadwgan

Adam helped me get my extra water bladder into my snack pack and went through the checklist with me to make sure I had everything I needed. Debbie had the bag with my food and head torch in. Meanwhile Debbie was preparing herself and when Adam saw his wife, he laughed as Deb was in full waterproofs and about three layers on her upper body, she usually runs in little, just shorts and a tee shirt, she looked like the scene from Friends when Joey wears all of Chandler’s clothes!


Estimated time: 3 hours / Actual time: 3 hours

Estimated arrival time: 2.45pm / Actual arrival time: 2.26pm

Schedule: ahead by 19 minutes

Time in checkpoint: 30 minutes (I had allowed 30 minutes for this checkpoint)


Leg 4 - Cadwgan to Queen’s Head - 24 miles

Debbie and I set off up the hill, a brisk power hike, I admitted to her that I would need to stop somewhere soon for a wild poo. I described the route that we would be taking and told her that there were a couple of big climbs, one of which was imminent, the other being at Gospel Pass.

I stopped to do my business in the woods and Debbie couldn’t resist taking a photo, you can’t see me luckily, just my poles leaning against a tree!

Spot the poles!

The climb up to Bal Mawr was wet and muddy to say the least, I was glad I hadn’t bothered with dry shoes! We reached the trig in no time at all and set off along the ridgeline, it passes through Chwarel Y Fan and Twyn Talycefn and it's around 6 miles to Rhos Dirion which signifies the turn point. We were chit-chatting away, I was leading and then I heard an awful sound, the sound of Debbie taking a big fall. I felt sick, I stopped and turned, dreading what I would see. Debbie was writhing around on the floor, all tangled up, clutching her knee and clearly in a lot of pain. I ran through a checklist in my head, what items we had with us and what order we should do things to stay warm and safe, I knew I had my SOS button on my tracker. Deb kept repeating, "I’m going to be ok, I’m ok, I’m ok, I’m so sorry!” Luckily, the pain subsided and Debbie got up and tried a walk, she was fine, we walked for a short time them went back into a slow run, conversation continued. Phew, that could’ve been a real disaster.

Rhos Dirion
Rhos Dirion

It felt like just minutes had passed and we were at Rhos Dirion. Time to head for Twmpa, through Gospel Pass and up to Hay Bluff - we really felt like we were flying! The fog and the rain continued but the ground was much firmer here so easier to keep a more consistent pace. Debbie shared her homemade fruit and nut mix with me which had Minstrels in too and conversation flowed from chickens to fellow runners we know, snippets of historical information I could remember from what Brett had told me in the past about the coffin trail and also about the footpaths, I warned Deb she should verify all information with Brett later on though, and of course the story of the unicorn with the daffodils (previous recce on this route!)

Hay Bluff
Hay Bluff

The turn off for Black Hill came, this is what I had been dreading, the Black Hill slog followed by the traipse through the heather and then the very long Offa's Dyke stretch. This is why I needed Debbie with me, to boost my moral here. Weirdly though, the Black Hill out was no trouble at all, the ground was surprisingly not as wet and muddy as the last time I had done this and the sun had decided to come to play for a bit and we could actually see more than a metre ahead now the fog had lifted. I was aware I needed to eat soon and it was agreed once at the trig, I’d have a celebratory packet of Hula Hoops. Much discussion on Hula Hoops ensued and we felt that Hula Hoops should make a Hula Hoops bar. They really do hold their shape and don’t break down into dust like other crisps do!

Black Hill
Ready for some Hula Hoops at Black Hill!

The back involved much ‘weeeee’ noises and time passed so very rapidly. We came to the turn off at the heather and I explained to Debbie that this had been a nightmare last time and to watch out for deep bogs, small ponds and metal barrier things. We stuck to the gpx like glue, checking it every few metres. My tummy was rumbling. We popped out on to the Offa's Dyke path and I told Debbie that eating was now a major priority. I scoffed three quarters of a sandwich and washed it down with a few gulps of water, time to crack on. We pootled along here at a slow and steady pace, if I walked for a bit Debbie would say, “little jog?” which made me laugh as that is what I said to her towards the end of her first ultra that I did with her, it was pay back time!


I then saw a very bouncy pair running towards us... it was Brett and super pup Bryn! It was so great to see them and Brett immediately gave me a boost by telling me how I’d kept up a consistent pace all day and he was impressed with how I’d ploughed on through the awful weather, right now though, the sun was shining and the views were awesome! Brett took my poles for me and the three of us chatted along quite happily, Brett and Debbie having to keep slowing down here and there to wait for me to catch up. We had the two unnamed trig points followed by Hatterell Hill, I can’t tell you how pleased I was to see Hatterell Hill at 8.37pm as it marked the end of the section I had been dreading and do you know what? It was fine! Thanks to having such awesome company and support.

Hatterell Hill
Hatterell Hill

We headed down to the gate and I commented on how happy I was to get there, Brett laughed and said it must mean something for the trail runner to be so pleased to see tarmac! It wasn’t that though, it was the significance of the location, I knew Queen’s Head was near, it was still daylight (I thought I’d be on a head torch by now) and there were just three summits left.

Debbie was still running strong but definitely feeling a bit tired, I know this because when she saw the white farmhouse she said a bit too over-enthusiastically, “Is that the pub?”. Nope. I could tell she was disappointed and later she said she regretted asking!

We arrived at the pub and Team Mangan swung into immediate action, it was incredible, just like a F1 pit crew. Adam passed me a Pot Noodle then proceeded to remove my shoes and socks whilst I munched away on it. He put a cup of tea next to me whilst the boys hung my waterproof in the car to air it and refilled my bladders. I put my Garmin on charge (it was on 18 hours at Cadwgan and now it was on 2 hours (I had it on jacket mode not the tweaked super duper battery saving setting I had created).


Estimated time: 6 hours / Actual time: 6 hours 8 minutes

Estimated arrival time: 9.15pm / Actual arrival time: 9.03pm

Schedule: ahead by 12 minutes

Time in checkpoint: 22 minutes (I had allowed 20 minutes for this checkpoint)


"Absolutely brilliant leg! But after 24 miles running with Lizzie - when she’d already done 35(?) - how she went on to do another 12 hilly ones I’ll never know!” - Debbie

Leg 5 - Queen’s Head to Abergavenny - 12 miles

After the Pot Noodle, I had a few biscuits with my tea, two cups of Coke, a fresh top and with head torch on it was time to leave. Brett stowed my warm layer and food in his pack and we were off, my Garmin still charging and tucked into my snack pack.


Bryn looked like a mythical creature with his eyes glowing orange from our head torches and his collar with its green light.

I took my poles for the ridiculously steep lane which actually wasn’t as bad as I remembered and Brett asked me a fantastic question, “So Lizzie, tell me what ultras you’ve got planned this year?!” that kept me waffling on at him for ages, good tactics Brett! We were at Gaer in a blink of an eye and Brett ran on ahead to find the knobbly tree which we needed to aim for. He turned once there so all I had to do was head down to the light of his head torch, this was a great time saving way to do it. There’s some cobbled lanes here which seemed slippery after all the rain, I know this as twice my feet shot out from under me but I saved myself with my poles. I recalled that on the recce there was a style to go over and then we’d gone the wrong side of a wall, I reminded Brett who was impressed with my memory and couldn’t remember at all! The wall was impossible to get wrong as the farmer had erected a fence.


Brett asked me if I needed to eat and he got my orange flavoured Toffee Crisp for me as we got to the board walks at Forest Coal Pit. As we headed up I ate it and was delighted at just how delicious it was. I often use my long runs to get rid of (eat) the food that’s been kicking about at home for a while and no one wants, turns out this particular food item had magical powers, I felt AMAZING afterwards!


Next stop was Bryn Arw 10.46pm, again Brett ran on ahead to locate the cairn and Bryn immediately posed for a photo which made me laugh, apparently he is so used to having his photo taken at summits he just automatically assumes the position! We ran through the gate and I recalled the upcoming downhill bracken fest, however, no stumble trippy bracken in sight, just lovely bluebells, this was great as I knew we were immediately saving time on this part!

Bryn Arw
Bryn Arw

We headed along the Old Hereford Road and just where we had to cross over the intersecting road I fell over and immediately started laughing and saying I just fancied a quick sit down! Brett laughed too and remarked on how I’d navigated my way all around the Black Mountains without falling over yet met my match in a slightly raised curb! We crossed over to the lane which would eventually deliver us to the first site of the magnificent Skirrid. There was a herd of sleeping cows in the field and we very cautiously walked passed them, going wide of the footpath and I asked Brett if Bryn was a help or a hindrance in this scenario. Brett said he’d let Bryn off the lead if the cows gave chase in the hope they would chase Bryn and not us! With some relief we passed through the gate into the next field and I felt Brett might be interested in my overly long narrative on how I’d got hopelessly lost here on the recce. I then realised I was walking, what a wally! We set off at a faster pace and Skirrid truly looked stunning, my all time favourite mountain, the moonlight beaming down on her. As we went through the final field before coming on to the lane, I was surprised to see that a lot of the sheep were brown rather than the usual white with the odd black one here and there.


Brett asked me if I needed to eat which I felt was a good idea before Skirrid, he passed me the quarter of a sandwich I had left. I’d already had my two fun size chocolate bars and a few shell less Skittles, the sandwich however was a real effort to eat but I knew I needed it to give me more energy for the final climb. We could see Skirrid ahead of us, the huge moon with clouds snaking their way around it, she looked absolutely stunning and I could not wait to commence the climb.

The moon looked amazing

We started going upwards and found a path with steps made by countless others going the same way, Brett said he’d go on ahead and wait at the top, shining has torch down to me so all I had to do was follow the light, I marvelled at how he scampered up so quickly, it made me chuckle a little. We’d clearly chosen the giant’s path as the steps were so enormous my little legs were not long enough to use them, I had to resort to putting my poles in one hand and using my elbows, hands and knees to heave myself up!

I finally got to the trig at 12.05pm which I patted and told Skirrid how much I loved her, we stood there taking in the night time view. It really was a special moment.

Skirrid Fawr
25 of 25! Skirrid Fawr

We made our way along the ridge and I commented on how the ground was a funny colour in the light of my head torch, it was hard to tell if it was wet, muddy, slippery or dry. Brett turned his head torch up so it was brighter and it made a huge difference. The steps down were a frustration, they were so wet and slippery and I was just so paranoid about falling down them, I told Brett I didn’t feel safe and was going to go super slowly, he offered to take my poles and held his arm out to me (as one would if assisting a granny over the road!) I laughed, thanked him and declined, I was definitely doing it of my own steam. And actually, if I had have accepted help, I think that potentially could have disqualified my efforts???


I was relieved when we were back to safer feeling ground and we trotted down the gravel track toward the car park. Time now to run the ever so slightly down hill road section to the car, around about 2 miles, that was it! I felt really good and still so strong. Under the bridge, right up the steps, along the narrow pathway, over the road, through the park, where’s the Scout Hut? Oh it’s here, it’s done! It’s complete, I’ve done it! I stopped my watch at 12.57am, looked at the time, just under 19 hours! Wow, what an accomplishment, I was so, so delighted!

Elizabeth Gatherer Rownd Mynydd Du
New overall FKT on Rownd Mynydd Du

Estimated time: 4 hours / Actual time: 3 hours 31 minutes

Estimated arrival time: 1.35am / Actual arrival time: 12.57pm

Schedule: ahead by 38 minutes

Offa's Dyke path
The Offa's Dyke path was stunning once the fog lifted!

What’s in the snack pack?

2x bars

2x caffeine chews

Sugar coated stemmed ginger

2x 500ml bladders water - both with Phizz

Gloves

Salomon Bonatti waterproof over mittens

Hat

Inov 8 Trailshell waterproof jacket

Long sleeved spare layer

Vasaline

Harrier Helvellyn Carbon Z-Poles and quiver

Whistle

Survival blanket

Fully charged mobile phone

Harvey’s map

Silva Expedition 4 compass

SPOT Tracker hired from Track Trail

Crew box contents

What I wore: Saucony Peregrine 12 ST, Garmin Fenix 6 Sapphire, buff, Sweaty Betty power leggings, Stance socks, Ronhill merino long sleeved top, Dirty Girl gaiters, Salomon Adv Skin 12 running vest.

Mynydd Troed
Mynydd Troed

Lead up: monthly back to back double days in Wales since January along with the odd long run / fkt route thrown in here and there (Haslemere Circular 21 miles, Midhurst Way 29 miles, DBR day 1 recce 19 miles, Beacons Way recce 22 miles) meant I was certainly mountain fit. As always I continued with plenty of Blaze bootcamp sessions and had weekly sports massage in the three weeks leading up as well as a couple of sessions with the chiropractor. I had done really well in the Beast of the Blacks 40 miler which was a real confidence boost. I really felt like I had put the work in.

"Little jog?"

Morning preparations: Breakfast was 40g porridge oats, 200ml no sugars oat milk, fresh blueberries, mashed banana and a dollop of strawberry jam washed down with a decaf tea. I was able to spend around 10 minutes doing stretches.

Hatterall Hill
Hatterall Hill

Summary

What a grand day out! Despite the weather, everything went really well and I felt strong throughout. I reflected back to the Gwynne-Harris Round during the last few miles and really felt I was a much stronger runner finishing this. I put a lot in to the preparation, the planning (in particular the planning for team Mangan) and the training and everything really paid off on the day.

Skirrid Fawr
Bryn striking a pose at Skirrid Fawr

Lessons learned

Adding a mat to the crew box to rest my bare feet on is certainly a good idea, luckily Debbie and Adam had a Kitbrix mat in the back of their car I could use. Also a large umbrella for the checkpoints would have been helpful.

Skirrid Fawr by moonlight
Skirrid Fawr by moonlight

Mountains/hills in order of appearance:

1. Sugar Loaf - 596m

2. Table Mountain - 450m

3. Pen Cerrig Calch - 701m

4. Pen Allt Mawr - 719m

5. Pen Twyn Glas - 646m

6. Mynydd Llysiau - 663m

7. Mynydd Llangors - 506m

8. Mynydd Troed - 609m

9. Waun Fach - 810m

10. Pen Y Gadair Fawr - 800m

11. Pen Twyn Mawr - 658m

12. Crug Mawr - 550m

13. Bal Mawr - 607m

14. Chwarel Y Fan - 670m

15. Twyn Talycefn - 702m

16. Rhos Dirion - 713m

17. Twmpa - 680m

18. Hay Bluff - 677m

19. Black Hill - 640m

20. Unnamed - 610m

21. Unnamed - 552m

22. Hatterall Hill - 464m

23. Gaer - 427m

24. Bryn Arw - 384m

25. Skirrid Fawr - 486m


Results

Overall FKT

Strava time: 18 hr 59 m 14 s


For those wishing to attempt this route please feel free to use my gpx as my nav was pretty spot on and includes a much more direct line to Mynydd Llangors and Mynydd Troed than on the original gpx submitted to the FKT website - thanks to round creator Brett for working out this improved line, recceing it and then passing it on to me to try.

Elizabeth Gatherer Rownd Mynydd Du

113 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page