top of page
  • Writer's pictureultramadlizzie

Rownd Mynydd Du (Black Mountains Round) - Table Mountain to Sugar Loaf including Black Hill

Updated: May 20, 2023

Date: Monday 27th February 2023

Strava says: 37.37 miles

Elevation: 6,841 ft / 2,085 m

Weather: Snowy & windy

Start: Llanbedr, lay-by parking at NP8 1SJ

Route type: Circular

Conditions: Soft and wet

Website link: Rownd Mynydd Du (Black Mountains Round)

Describe the route in three words: snowy windy fun

Rownd Mynydd Du (Black Mountains Round) recce from Table Mountain to Sugar Loaf including Black Hill

The last time I did this route was the first time I met Brett from M & L Outdoors, we completed this route (Black Mountains Circular) as a team FKT and I learned navigation skills from him along the way. Today I wanted to re-do it on my own and to also incorporate Black Hill as that was the only summit I was yet to do as part of my recces for the Rownd Mynydd Du. Plus in doing this route, it would refresh my memory on many of the other summits which are also on the Rownd Mynydd Du.


I had discovered in the morning that my spare bladder was leaking so I was not able to take the full 2 litres of water I was planning to take. Luckily I already had a 500ml bottle of water which I was able to take as back up. I knew I would run out of water but also knew that when I ran out it would be towards the end, plus in a worst case scenario there would be plenty of houses / farm buildings and I could knock on someone's door.


I parked up in the lay-by and received a text from Brett along with a photo of Bryn the dog on a snow dusted Sugar Loaf, the photo was taken from his morning’s run and the caption read, “It’s a bit more wintery today!”. The day before I had run in glorious sunshine. My mind was made up immediately, put full waterproofs on! And I am so very glad that I did. As I walked down to the pub which marks the start, I realised I stupidly had not uploaded the route on to my Garmin. Of course there was no phone signal here and various ideas on what to do raced through my mind, one of which included returning to the car to drive somewhere until I had signal and could transfer the route from my phone to my Garmin. I wondered if I could pick up the pub’s wifi signal and I also wondered that perhaps once in the village there would be phone signal. Luckily there was and I was successfully able to transfer the route to my watch, what a relief and how stupid of me! I’m usually so organised!


It was warm work going up Table Mountain so much so I removed my hat. Reaching Pen Cerrig-calch 701m at 9.57am, I had managed to shave over 3 minutes off the Llanbedr to Pen Cerrig-calch segment which was pleasing.

Pen Cerrig-calch
Pen Cerrig-calch - 701 m

Once past the trig at Pen Cerrig-calch it was apparent I needed to pop my hat back on along with my hood as the wind was pretty brutal. The majority of this run I had windy and wet conditions to contend with whilst snow was being smacked into my face, it was sore and I felt battered throughout but it was weirdly still good fun!

I was oblivious passing Mynydd Llysiau which was a shame as this would have been useful to know to help work out my timings for my FKT attempt in May.

I was at Waun Fach 811m by 11.15am and was impressed at how different it looked since I had been there the day before. Today it was dusted in snow, yesterday it was sunny and bright.

Waun Fach
Waun Fach - 811 m

On past Rhos Dirion 713m which I reached at 11.46pm and then on to Twmpa 690m. I had a chuckle to myself as someone had left a stray glove on the trig, I took a selfie and planned to send it to my friend Lynne who is constantly making me laugh by running in odd gloves as she never seems to be able to find a matching one, this could perhaps be one of hers?!!! I stopped to get my sandwich and Hula Hoops out as well as to put my poles away which I’d been carrying for ages, I’d only needed them initially for the Table Mountain climb. It was definitely time for something to eat, unfortunately far too cold to be able to sit down and have a mini picnic.

Twmpa
Rhos Dirion - 713m

I headed down to Gospel Pass and then back up the other side to Hay Bluff 677m at 12.36pm. I knew the turn point was about half a mile for Black Hill so I kept my wits about me, unsure as to whether the path would be obvious and if the near white out conditions would cause an issue. As it happened, a grey (white to non-horsey people) Welsh Mountain pony was standing by the intersection, rather looking like a unicorn. It’s black forelock (hair between its ears) was sticking up in a conical shape and it really did look like a unicorn’s horn! There was a stone marker which someone had left daffodils by so I’d have been silly to miss the turn off!

Hay Bluff
Hay Bluff - 677 m

Black Hill is an out and back, a bit of an annoying one as it was a one mile out terminating at the trig which was on the middle of a sticky black muddy area, I guess the reason why it is called Black Hill. I had reached Black Hill 640m at 1:04pm.

Black Hill
Black Hill - 640 m

I retraced my steps and then cut across the undergrowth to re-join the Offa’s Dyke path. This was really hard going, my feet kept getting caught in the heather, there was bog patches and pools of water dotted around, it felt like an eternity to reach the footpath, and even though I knew the footpath was nearing, I could not for the life of me see it.


I finally stepped on it and with some relief followed it, feeling a bit like Pacman eating up the dots as the path is paved with rough round slabs.

I had a long stretch of nearly 7 miles until Hatterall Hill and was very aware that on the big day, this may well be a mental struggle as although beautiful, it’s a monotonous beauty.


I reached the first of the two Unnamed trig points 610m at 2.05pm, the sky was clearing now affording me better views.

The Black Mountains
Unnamed - 610m

The second Unnamed trig point 552m I reached at 2.32pm and the going was a lot easier now as I was descending.

The Black Mountains
Unnamed - 552 m

I reached Hatterall Hill 464m at 3.05pm marking the end of the 7 mile stretch, I was a couple of minutes quicker along this stretch than I was last time which was pleasing.

 Hatterall Hill
Hatterall Hill - 464m

I’d run out of water by now and decided to have a bit of a faff at the gate which I knew was coming up soon. I retrieved my spare 500ml water bottle from my bag and decanted it into one of my empty bladders, I grabbed something to eat and got going again. Just Sugar Loaf to do now but it would be some time before I felt like I was truly on the climb up. This stretch was actually a lot longer than I recalled and I felt like I was really moving slowly as I came off the lane and made my way along and up the grassy footpath towards Sugar Loaf.


I’d nearly run out of water again but wasn’t worried as it really wasn’t too long until I’d be finished. I’d packed a caffeine sachet which I have never used but wanted to try and felt now was as good a time as any. I reached the top of Sugar Loaf 596m at 4.53pm and took a quick snap but was pleased to be heading down again as the day was drawing to a close. I feel that the caffeine perhaps did kick in as I was very jolly running down!

Sugar Loaf
Sugar Loaf - 596 m

I crossed over the little bridge, wound my way through a wooded area and came out on to the lane which I knew was very close to the end. A shepherd let his flock of sheep out of a field and I watched and heard their thundering feet travel along the lane, they seemed to know where they were going! I arrived at the pub which marked the completion of my route and happily walked to my car. Against the odds of my stupidity (lack of uploaded route) and the appalling weather I had had a fabulous day out, however I was very pleased to get back to the car and into warm dry clothes!

A flock of sheep heading to a new field

What’s in the snack pack?

Philadelphia cream cheese sandwich & Hula Hoops

Luchos guava square

Barebells caramel & cashew bar

Mixture of fudge and chocolate & honey balls

Sugar coated stemmed ginger

2x 500ml bladders water - with Phizz

500ml bottle water

Decathlon windproof jacket

Long sleeved spare layer

Vasaline

Safety pins

Compeed, plasters, surgical tape, spare socks

Harrier Helvellyn Carbon Z-Poles and quiver

Petzl e+lite head torch

Whistle

Survival blanket

Fully charged mobile phone

Harvey’s map

Silva Expedition 4 compass


What I wore: Saucony Peregrine 12 ST, Garmin Fenix 6 Sapphire, buff, Sweaty Betty power leggings, Stance socks, Ronhill merino long sleeved top plus Montane long sleeved top, hat, gloves, Dirty Girl gaiters, Salomon Adv Skin 12 running vest. Inov 8 Trailshell waterproof jacket, OMM Halo waterproof trousers and Salomon Bonatti waterproof over mittens.

Waun Fach
Waun Fach didn't look like this yesterday!

Lead up: This was just a training run so there had been no special preparations for it. I had run 14 miles the day before doing another recce.


Morning preparations: I had stayed overnight at my friends' house in Rogerstone so did not have too much of an early start. I had a cup of tea and a porridge pot with added blueberries to start the day. I spent some time doing some stretches too.


Summary

I certainly faced a few challenges what with the leaking spare water bladder, the route not being on my Garmin and the strong winds and snow, but I conquered them all and I still had a great day out, I made the right decision with my clothing so I was nice and warm throughout. I was perhaps not quite as quick as I had hoped, however I feel that the weather did slow me down somewhat as I was fighting against it a lot of the time, overall, I was very pleased with how the day went.

Black Hill
A soggy Black Hill

Results

Elapsed time: 8 hr 29 m 40 s

25 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page