top of page
  • Writer's pictureultramadlizzie

Beast of the Blacks 40 miles

Updated: May 21, 2023

Date: Saturday 11th March 2023

Official miles: 40 miles

Elevation: 9,754 ft / 2,973 m

Weather: Rain and snow

Start: Llanbedr

Route type: Clockwise loop then anticlockwise loop

Conditions: Deep snow underfoot, wet, muddy

Website link: Beast of the Blacks by Limitless Trails


Describe the route in three words: fabulously stunning course

Beast of the Blacks - Race Report

This was my second event with Limitless Trails and I have to say, they are a super events company. Always a great atmosphere, well organised, well thought out course and great aid stations and marshals.


There were three distances taking place, 10, 20 and 40 mile. I was doing the 40 mile. Race director Ellen had emailed us the day before to say that conditions weren’t great (deep snow) and if anyone decided to finish at 20 miles - rather than DNF us, they would move us to the 20 mile event and give us a time and a finisher's medal. This, I have to confess, sewed a seed of doubt in my mind. I’d been in the area two weeks prior in snow and high winds and although enjoyed it, it had been pretty tough. Luckily when I mentioned it to my husband he scoffed and said, “Well you won’t be doing that!” (as in drop down to 20). He was right of course. The run I’d done two weeks prior was self supported, this of course would have the luxury of aid stations!


At HQ I eyed up everyone’s outfits and noticed that a waterproof jacket seemed to be the layer of choice. I decided on the drive over after much deliberation that I would keep my waterproofs in my running snack pack. I caved to peer pressure after discussing with volunteer Steve who was also running the 20 mile route. I put my jacket on.

We set off just after 9am and I immediately regretted my decision on the jacket! I knew there would be a queue at the first style up Table Mountain so decided that this would be where I would remove the jacket and stow it away. I wanted to make the most efficient decisions throughout as I had decided that I was going to race this event and not treat it as training, a jolly or a grand day out. I had sub-11 hours on my mind. Steve caught me stashing my jacket and remarked that both he and I should have listened to my instinct and kept the jackets off!


I was surprised that we didn’t need to go all the way to the top of Table Mountain and instead follow the path along and steadily down. The ground underfoot was firm and we were out of the wind. This was already a lot easier than I had mentally prepared myself for, a good start indeed.

Beast of the Blacks
A couple of minutes from the start and I'm already regretting wearing my jacket!

As I was nearing the bottom of Table Mountain I could hear a lady behind me, as we came on to the lane we chatted and I found out she was called Helen. It was a bit awkward as I ended up pulling away from her and had to keep turning my head back to continue the conversation. It wasn’t long though until conversation was not possible.

We followed the lane for a little while then turned off to take the long climb up Crug Mawr. The scenery was spectacular, perhaps more so because of the snow. It really was a stunning climb and I felt incredible when pausing to look back to see how far I had come and see the runners snaking from top to bottom.

Crug Mawr
Nearing the top of Crug Mawr

We passed through a gate and I immediately recognised where we were, we were already on the way down to the first checkpoint at Cadwgan. I’d done this section on a recce for the Black Mountains Round so knew what lay ahead. The path was snowy and rocky but not muddy and did not seem slippery, however I was put to shame by many other runners charging past me at full speed! I did a quick mental checklist as to what I had and what I needed. I did not need anything at all so I went straight past the aid station calling “thank you” as I did.

Cadwgan
Coming into Cadwgan

The next climb started and I knew I was more than capable of running much of it. It veered to the left (Black Mountains Round you go straight up) so I was back in unfamiliar territory. The path wound downwards and I thought I ought to have a wee stop as there was no one in front or behind, not that I could see or hear anyway. I quickly ducked behind a mound, did my business and carried on, pleased with my efficiency. However, I soon heard two female voices chatting and laughing, I couldn’t believe it, my wee stop meant two ladies had caught me! It was Helen who had chatted to previously and a lovely lady called Andrea. We all ran together for a while swapping run stories. As we turned off the track and it got more technical, Helen gradually pulled away and left Andrea and I gleefully running through a forest of Christmas trees, the smell was divine! Andrea told me that Helen had done eight 100 mile races… and won every single one! A-ha. No chance of me catching Helen then!


The terrain got even more technical, we were running along a path which resembled a frozen over riverbed - very rocky, very wet in places, a mixture of snow and frozen puddles. I thought it would be tricky doing this bit in reverse. Andrea was right behind me, if I’d not been racing I’m sure I would have walked many sections. As it happened though, I couldn’t slow down for fear of her crashing into me so I bounded along, it was really fun and I did feel that Andrea was breathing down my neck and could overtake me at any minute which really kept me going, I find cycling with my legs helps on these tricky bits, makes sense as I am lifting my knees up which is what I should be doing anyway (but rarely do!). The rocks finally eased off and next up was a grassy path covered in snow, on my return this bit would be super wet and muddy.

The next checkpoint was just past St Issui's Church in Partrishow, once through the church there’s a surprisingly steep but short lane to get up. I grabbed a handful of jelly babies and a banana at the checkpoint and went straight through. Andrea was still hot on my heels. I offered to share my banana with her, she gratefully took half. We ran through a double gate and started the next climb, this was where we joined up with the 10 mile runners, I looked at my watch to see that we were on around 13 miles. I was impressed with these guys as although they were walking, the look of sheer determination on their faces was inspiring.


Then the strangest of things happened... it was as though the banana I gave Andrea had boosting powers, similar to the boost on Mario Kart! She steamed past me, powered on up he hill and I thought never to be seen again! I could not believe how quickly she put a gap between us and I started questioning what was going on, had she gone faster or was I going slower? What could I do to catch up with her? I didn’t have an answer so just pushed on. Andrea had disappeared from view before I reached the trig at the top.


It’s then a pleasant and easy descent, I think it was somewhere along here that I saw the front runner on his return loop. I finally headed through a field which brings you out onto the road which goes through Llandbedr. You have to head back up Table Mountain and retrace your steps from first thing in the morning, this is where I saw number 2 and number 3 heading towards me. It was quite muddy and slippery on the down and I was pleased to have my poles to stop me sliding onto my bum.

I popped out back on to the lane and had a strong run into the village hall, there were lots of people cheering me which was lovely! I saw both Helen and Josie on their return loop surprisingly close to the village hall, there really wasn’t that much between the top four ladies.


I dashed into the hall, a marshal re-filled my water bladders, I pulled out my sandwich and Hula Hoops, shoved a potato into my mouth and then heard a very friendly, “Lizzieeeeeee!”. It was Andrea! Andrea had actually only been one minute ahead of me.


I couldn’t believe it, now was my chance to overtake her (did I feel guilty at this thought? No. I can’t tell you the amount of times I’ve been overtaken at aid stations!)

Andrea headed out before me but I was not long after. I made it a goal to have not only eaten my sandwich and Hula Hoops before the Table Mountain climb, but to overtake Andrea too… which I did. Andrea was right behind me, hot on my heels, along with a chap. The three of us remained together for quite a while. I climbed over a style, got my foot caught and immediately face planted on the other side, the chap asked if I was ok, I was, it was very funny and very soft ground!

On the second lap

There’s a very steep but short climb through trees and this is where I managed to create a gap and the three of us became more strung out. A chap heading in on the first loop informed me I was third lady, he must have then told Andrea that she was fourth as I heard her happily say, “it’s not a competition”. It blooming well is I thought! I want a trophy!!!! I ploughed on greeting the runners on their way in from the first loop.


When I came across the three back runners, they stood to one side to let me past and said, "Take your time, there’s no hurry.” I retorted, "There is, I’m currently third lady and I want some bling!”

They all laughed! I passed the trig point and knew that the next aid station was not far. When I reached it, I grabbed a Twix and carried on. It was pouring with rain now and the marshals were having a job keeping the food dry. The Twix was close to frozen but did the job. I reached the church and someone had closed the gates, it took me ages to figure out how to open them! A few gates later and I got to another one I couldn’t open, what on earth is going on? I hurried to the hinge end and opted to climb over instead.


As I expected, the rocky path leading up to the Christmas tree area was hard going. It was really wet and muddy now, it was raining and cold. I hurried along as best I could. As I turned off the rocky bit and onto the super wet, snowy, muddy section, I was aware of voices behind me. Eeeek, I was being caught! I knew I just had to get through this and then once I hit the gravel track I could make up on some lost time. As I came down the final steep and twisty path there were three guys right behind me (no women, hurrah!). As soon as I hit the gravel track, the guy in red passed me and sped off. I was pleased to be able to loose the other two men, I was making up for lost time! Weirdly though, I caught up with the guy in red towards the top of the hill and nearly overtook him, when it came to the descent, he raced off again. As I neared Cadwgan I was aware that my hands were so wet and cold, they had gone numb. I knew I needed water too. It was a risk. Sort myself out which would lose valuable minutes or ignore my discomfort and run on, potentially running out of water. I took the risk. The guy in red was there which for some reason made me feel better about my decision. The marshal was brilliant, he helped me get my wet gloves off and sorted out my water refills whilst I put the dry gloves on as well as my waterproof jacket, it really was wet and the temperature was noticeably cooler. As I was struggling to put my waterproof mittens on, I heard a very friendly, “Lizzieeeeeee!” “Andrea!” I said back (crying a little bit inside), I had strong words with my over gloves as it was really hard getting them on with numb hands, grabbed a handful of the nearest food (which turned out to be a yummy peanut brittle) and got out of there. The guy in red had not long left so I decided to try and keep him in my sights. As I neared the top of the hill I turned to see where Andrea was, she’d already left the checkpoint, I had been saying a quiet prayer and hoping she needed to stop for a water refill too! Gosh I can be competitive!


We were heading up to Crug Mawr, this was a much easier approach as although steep, it is shorter. I could see the guy in red running and decided I would run the same sections that he was. I was catching up to him again. I was delighted to get to the top of Crug Mawr as I knew I had the really long and lovely descent down to the lane. It was fabulous! A few glances behind and I could not see Andrea.


Just one more climb to go now and it wasn’t even a big one. As I came through the gate and started the final part of the climb I could see the guy in red chasing down someone in yellow. I had no chance of catching him now and I really hoped he could catch the yellow guy, what an exciting finish for him! Turns out though, that the guy in yellow was actually a girl! It was Josie! I had no chance of catching her but it was really great to know that I had closed the gap by a minute since the halfway point and the fact I could see her was great, my training is certainly paying off!

It was time for the final muddy bit down Table Mountain, I considered sitting down and just sliding but decided against the idea. I had a really strong finish and welled up a bit crossing the line as I knew I had come third, how exciting! Steve (the guy I’d chatted to in the morning about wearing waterproofs) was there handing out the medals. Another marshal handed me a trophy for third lady, my grin in the photo says it all!

Beast of the Blacks third lady!
Beast of the Blacks third lady!

What’s in the snack pack?

Philadelphia sandwich & Hula Hoops

Natural Bar

Caffeine chews x2

Jelly beans

Sugar coated stemmed ginger

Mints

2x 500ml bladders water - both with Phizz

Spare Phizz tabs

Spare gloves

Hat

Inov 8 Trailshell waterproof jacket

Long sleeved spare layer

Vasaline

Spare hair band

Safety pins

Compeed, plasters, surgical tape, spare socks

Harrier Helvellyn Carbon Z-Poles and quiver

Silva head torch (mandatory but didn’t need)

Whistle

Survival blanket

OMM Halo waterproof trousers

OMM ultra flexi cup

Salomon Bonatti waterproof over mittens

Fully charged mobile phone

Beast of the Blacks 20 mile and 40 mile starting line up
Beast of the Blacks 20 mile and 40 mile starting line up

What I wore: Saucony Peregrine 12 ST, Garmin Fenix 6 Sapphire, buff, Sweaty Betty power leggings, Stance socks, Montane merino long sleeved top plus addition thicker Montane long sleeved top, Montane VIA trail gloves, Dirty Girl gaiters, Salomon Adv Skin 12 running vest.

Beast of the Blacks HQ
Beast of the Blacks HQ

Lead up: This is realistically my final ‘warm up’ before attempting the Rownd Mynydd Du (Black Mountains Round) in May. I had done numerous recces in the Black Mountains since January and the weekend prior to race day I completed a 4x4x48 challenge (I ran 4 miles every 4 hours for 48 hours) which actually ended up being a 103 mile week! I certainly was well prepared for this race. So much so I actually wanted to ‘race’ rather than just go out for a jolly which is what I normally do. I had a 1 week taper which included an evening boot camp session on the Monday, a slow social 7.5 mile run on Tuesday, a sports massage on Wednesday as well as three days complete rest with a few stretches on each of those days.

Beast of the Blacks
Ready to start Beast of the Blacks (why did I put the jacket and hat on?!)

Morning preparations: The night before I stayed at my favourite Crickhowell abode, The Dragon Inn. I had a porridge pot in my room and a couple of slices of toast and jam in the restaurant. I did around 10 minutes stretching before setting off for the race.

Summary I am so delighted with the outcome of this race. I really felt strong from the beginning and until the end. The weather did not phase me at all (I think it helped that I had been in far worse conditions just 12 days prior.) I ran in a lot of places where I would normally walk and I felt strong on the climbs, overtaking many people on the climb to Crug Mawr. This has given me a great confidence boost for my FKT attempt in May.

Beast of the Blacks
That grin might be because I know I'm in for a chance of some bling!

Lessons learned

  • Listen to my instinct, I was right in thinking I did not need to wear my waterproof jacket yet put it on anyway just because everyone else had theirs on!

  • Yet again, jeffing wins the race! I did this on the hills during the OTT ultra which I ended up winning. There is a lot to be gained from a few strides of run when you think it is only steep enough to walk.

Results

Chip time: 8 hr 47 m 14 s

Overall: 14/58

Lady: 3/13 (2nd in senior category)

Josie Nye, Helen Pike, Lizzie Gatherer
2nd lady Josie Nye, 1st lady Helen Pike, 3rd lady Lizzie Gatherer

Beast of the Blacks 40 2023 - click here for results

Strava bling!

Professional photos courtesy of Andy Gale, full gallery can be viewed here.

Daz's Photography, full gallery can be viewed here.

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page