top of page
  • Writer's pictureultramadlizzie

Faccombe Backyard Ultra 2021 - Race Report

Updated: May 19, 2023

Date: 6pm 9th July 2021

Strava says: 86.45 miles

Elevation: 15,301 ft / 4,664 m

Weather: Warm, with a spot of drizzle

Start: Faccombe Estate

Route type: 4.25 mile laps

Conditions: Mostly dry, bit of mud

Website link: Run on Trails


Describe the route in three words: Scenic hilly fun

Faccombe Backyard Ultra, Mark O'Meara
Receiving my DNF memorabilia from Mark O'Meara, race director of Faccombe Backyard Ultra

Strategy: I had a number of strategies up my sleeve, all of which proved incredibly successful. Some I will not share because I feel that they are personal to me and are the reason I made it down to the final 5. If I ran this race again, I would employ the same strategies and would not want anyone else to use them in fear they would beat me!

I will however share that a session with a mindset coach proved invaluable. I also feel that milestones such as particular food to look forward to, visitors and changing socks are all great mini goals to work towards and keep you going.


Faccombe Backyard Ultra (initially called Linkenholt Backyard Ultra) - Race Report

Lap description: A mostly downhill course with a number of very noticeable uphills! Tarmac, grassy trails, woodland trails, tyre track section and trails with roots and stones. The lap was 4.25 miles, with around 800 ft / 244 m elevation.


Please note, the number of starters and finishers per lap is mostly accurate, but probably not completely accurate, I have worked out the DNFs from Kevin's notes, my memories, runners' Strava profiles where available and from the Andover Trails Facebook page.

Faccombe Backyard Ultra start
Entering the corral for the first time at Faccombe Backyard Ultra

Lap 1 | 6pm | Starters: 29

The three minute whistle went. I continued sitting in my chair wondering how people would behave. There were those who headed immediately to the start line and those who waited until the last 30 seconds. The majority probably did as I did. The 2 minute whistle went, I closed my eyes, I took a deep breath and I silently said goodbye to my chair. See you in less than an hour.


I walked to the start line, keeping myself to myself. I didn’t feel the need to join in with any banter. I felt strangely calm, no nerves.

Race director Mark’s voice interrupted my thoughts, “15 seconds to go”. This was it, I had spent endless hours thinking about this race, mentally preparing myself alongside the physical training. "5, 4, 3, 2, 1..." the sound of Mark’s voice, the sounds of various timing watches being started, the cheers from the crew and the cattle bells, "go!"

I already felt epic, and this was only just the beginning. I purposely loped slowly down the hill, smiling at the pointed party hats bobbing ahead in front of me. We were like a herd of unicorns, it was the race director’s daughter’s 14th birthday, hence the party hats, we'd all sang happy birthday before the race started.


Rich, who I had got to know leading up to the race galloped off. I chuckled to myself, idiot, he’ll regret that later! I was at the back of the pack bar one other, beardy guy, number 31. Exactly where I wanted to be. The route was as I recalled it. I checked off my various markers, top of the hill at the second gate. 14 minutes. Perfect. 2 mile marker, 29 minutes 30 seconds. Again, perfect. Bottom of Lucy’s Hill, 44 minutes. Fantastic. I felt quietly confident with my perfect start. In the blink of an eye I was at the puddle which marked the short walk up to the finish line which I crossed just after 52 minutes. The leaders crossed at 45 minutes, the other lady at 47 minutes. Kev and I exchanged a few pleasantries. Kev told me there had been 5 no shows (non starters). Not too much else to say at this point really. I sat briefly and had some water. After the 2 minute whistle I sauntered over to the start line.

Lap one: 52 minutes and 25 seconds

Distance covered: 4.25 miles

Runners left: 29

Lap 1 of Faccombe Backyard Ultra
Lap 1 of Faccombe Backyard Ultra complete

Lap 2 | 7pm | Starters: 29

"5, 4, 3, 2, 1…" off we went! I wanted to have a near identical lap to the first. Beardy guy who had been way behind me on that first lap sped off too quickly (too quickly for what I belive his plan was) I did eventually end up sitting just behind him throughout the whole lap. Kev and I both felt he was here with a game plan, a job to do. I felt that my sitting just on his tail was probably rather annoying and interfering with his plan. I decided I’d only do it this once though, after all, I wanted to run my race, not his. We came over the finish line and due to my tailgating I had a little less rest time, just 4 minutes, but no matter, still enough to have a quick wee and to eat some watermelon.

Lap 2: 55 minutes and 49 seconds.

Distance covered: 8.5 miles

Runners left: 28

Lap 3 | 8pm | Starters: 28

Lap 3 already! I didn’t notice that there was one less starter on this lap. Our first DNF of the event. Off we went, I wasn’t at all bothered that I was at the back of the pack, in fact, in a weird way it just filled me with more confidence. I got a bit thirsty on the lap, but not to worry, wouldn’t be long until I could have a sip of water. And it wasn’t, before I knew it, lap 3 was done. There was Kev’s shape, I headed straight for him, oh that wasn’t Kev! I styled it out by adding a nod to my smile, as though to acknowledge this stranger and continued on to Kev. Just a quick sit down and some water before the whistles started. Kev suggested I take my head torch but I declined, “next lap” I said.


Lap 3: 56 minutes and 30 seconds.

Distance covered: 12.75 miles

Runners left: 28


Lap 4 | 9pm | Starters: 28

As soon as we started and I saw just how many of the others had head torches on I thought, “whoops” it’s going to be dark through the trees at the end of this lap!

I decided to allow myself a bit quicker on the downhills, I had just been so fearful of wasting precious energy by going down them too fast at the start, I knew my legs were nicely warmed up now so allowed for a brisker walk on the uphills too. I kept nice and steady on the runnable sections. I felt like I had found the right pacing for me and would keep it up.


Just before the tyre tracks I tucked in behind Dave and a chap he was talking football to for a while, letting myself get distracted by their banter. I passed them on the tyre tracks and they turned their head torches on, thank goodness they were such gentleman and seemed happy for me to run ahead in their light beams. I got back to Kev and said, "I should have taken my head torch”, “I did tell you he said!”


Lap 4: 52 minutes and 38 seconds.

Distance covered: 17 miles

Runners left: 24


Lap 5 | 10pm | Starters: 24

Head torches were on everyone now, lights bouncing off a few shiny party hats which were still on people’s heads. Kev could see I felt chilly at the start line and said he’d have my coat for me next time. This was my first lap in the dark. The owls were hooting and the long grass seemed to create a 3D magic eye puzzle illusion as my eyes adjusted. My pace remained the same and I was surprised by the amount of people who had slowed down. Snippets of overheard chatter informed me that some had never run in a head torch before. I felt pleased that I was confident running in the dark. I knew every inch of this course by now and knew where each and every trip hazard was. As we came to the forest track I enjoyed the ease of running down it, round the corner, switch sides. Over the hole, switch sides. Pheasant feeder, stay right. I mentally checked everything off. I made sure I kept a similar pace to the lap before as I knew I needed time to eat my dinner at the end of this lap. Like a magnet I headed to Kev who helped me into my coat. I sat on the chair and ate my wraps and crisps, delicious. I put my arm sleeves on. These longer rests were lovely.


There was the whistle again! One more whistle then time to move. To the start line, I slid out of my jacket, thank goodness for my sleeves as the air had a real chill to it now.


Lap 5: 52 minutes and 37 seconds.

Distance covered: 21.25 miles

Runners left: 23

Faccombe Backyard Ultra night lap
Faccombe Backyard Ultra - first lap with head torches

Lap 6 | 11pm | Starters: 23

I was in a rhythm, I’d already covered over 20 miles and my legs were feeling great, my stomach however was not. It was actually really bothering me as I could not fathom what the pain was. Was it trapped wind? Sickness? Did I need the loo? I wasn’t really sure but it was making me frown somewhat. If it wasn’t for my stomach pains then I was actually in great leg and foot comfort.

I finished that lap and mentioned the stomach ache to Kev. The slower lap time was a mark of my stomach discomfort, I didn’t feel as though I had altered pace, but clearly it was slowing me down. Kev told me that Beardy man had retired, I was very surprised as I’d actually thought the guy was in for the long haul. Apparently he told Kev that he was not prepared for the elevation of the course. This gave me the little boost that I needed and made me forget about the stomach issue for a bit.


Lap 6: 55 minutes and 45 seconds.

Distance covered: 25.50miles

Runners left: 22


Lap 7 | 12pm | Starters: 22

I headed out into the dark and marvelled at all the various whoops and toots from the owls. I also thought how much time it takes a woman on an ultra to go to the loo. The guys just stop and pee in the bush (I caught Frank peeing by the log piles on the tyre tracks twice, hence I called it “Frank’s Place’). I have to go to the Portaloo, disinfect the seat and wipe it down, sit down, do my business, then wash my hands with soap and water. What is over in a matter of seconds for the guys, takes me minutes, they just relieve themselves on the course and their rest time is unaffected.


I know! I’ll pee on the course and I know just the place! The 2 mile marker is at the top of a hill and there is a 90 degree right turn. There’s an open gate into a field, I’ll just squat down there as it means I won’t even need to take one step off the course but anyone behind me will run by without seeing a thing or knowing what I’m up to. I get to my wee spot and glance back, there are two head torches at the bottom of the hill but I’ll have plenty of time. I squat down and I’m immediately surprised by how long the grass is as it tickles my bottom. Nothing happens. C’mom wee! The head torches are bobbing nearer. Come on wee! Phew, finally I performed and I can now hear the head torches really close to me, I quickly stand up and as I pull my pants up and run away, I realise I have a blade of grass up my bum! I decide I won’t tell Kev about this, poor guy has already had a blow by blow account of every body function and feeling of mine.


I arrive at the finish and complain my stomach is still an issue, I say I know it’s not because I need the loo. Kev digs out my ginger which I gladly eat and decide to keep in my pocket, I grabbed a few grapes too and then the whistle went. I seem to have an insatiable thirst so I decide to take my water (now with electrolytes) with me.


Lap 7: 56 minutes and 19 seconds.

Distance covered: 29.75 miles

Runners left: 21

Lap 8 | 1am | Starters: 21 Hmmmm. My tummy wasn’t any better, and actually my back was now hurting. Was it because I’m so used to carrying a pack so was running slightly differently? Or was my back hurting due to the stomach pains? I kept having moments of panic, what if my stomach and back pain mean I have to quit? I pushed the thoughts out of my head and pushed on. My water sloshing in my bottle. I try to take a sip of my drink but realise I can’t in the the dark. Every time I tilt my head back to drink, my light beam of course goes skywards. I don’t want to stop to drink, and I don’t want to run blind and risk tripping. I take a few messy sips on the uphills and decide to not bother running with water again.


I decided I would eat some rice pudding at the end of this lap, and I would lie on the bed too to stretch out and flatten my back muscles. I reached Kev who passed me an apple rice pudding, my word it tasted good! I had no idea how delicious cold rice pudding could be! The last time I had eaten rice pudding was on the Hardwolds 80 and I had forgotten just how satisfying and reviving it can be! I had some more to drink and finally got on top of my thirst.

Lap 8: 55 minutes and 26 seconds.

Distance covered: 34 miles

Runners left: 19


Lap 9 | 2am | Starters 19

The start line seemed to be thinning out now, there were 19 starters. I set off, back aching, stomach aching. I started thinking a lot about my support, the people rooting for me. The incredible people I train with are my inspiration, I had to do this, I needed to do this. For them and their unfathomable support. This pain would be temporary and my legs and feet were fine.


My stomach felt like a tight ball of pain, with every foot strike I could feel it thud heavily down then flip back up again. It’ll go soon I thought. I spotted a pair of creepy eyes in the bushes along the ‘do be do path’ and then averted my eyes. I knew it was a deer, but the eyes were freaking me out. Just as I got to the ‘what I want path’ an owl flew into my face! I screamed it made me jump so much! I rolled up the final hill and complained to Kev about my stomach ache. He handed me a flat Coke.

Lap 9: 56 minutes and 10 seconds.

Distance covered: 38.25 miles

Runners left: 17

Lap 10 | 3am | Starters: 17

I set off, my rests didn’t feel long enough right now. I’d had four rests of between only 4 and 5 minutes. The stomach was worsening. Damn it. I was despairing, I hadn’t considered getting timed out due to a stomach ache as a potential issue! I felt my confidence crumbling. I found myself with Rich. We chatted, I’d not said much to him before or even during the race, I hadn’t really spoken to anyone yet. We chatted and ran together, he told me he was finding it hard. I didn’t want any of the other runners to know about my stomach ache, my weakness. I found myself telling Rich all about it though. I felt better for sharing my pain and before I knew it we were towards the end of the lap. The combination of the flat Coke and chatting to Rich really helped give me a boost on this lap as I managed to get round a bit quicker although the last stretch along the 'do be do path' and the 'what I want path' was agony.


I slumped down in my chair feeling an utter failure, I was going to get timed out and let everyone down. Kev was quiet, busying himself with something. I thought he was quiet because he was disappointed. He handed me a fizzing bubbling potion, the black plastic beaker made it look as though it was a potion in a mini cauldron. “Drink it while it’s still fizzing.” I downed it. “That’ll sort you out”.

Lap 10: 54 minutes and 14 seconds.

Distance covered: 42.50 miles

Runners left: 15

Lap 11 | 4am | Starters: 15

As I crossed into the corral and left Kev, he said that the sun would rise on this lap. Wow, I’d made it through the night, I’d be able to take my head torch off soon! Positive thoughts flooded through my body as I looked around at the rather quiet corral. Only 15 left.


“5 seconds guys”. I started running, my body tense and waiting for the lurching, jolting ball of pain in my stomach. Nothing. What? My shoulders relaxed a bit, what had Kev just given me? I smiled. I took a joyful leap over the second speed bump. Still no pain! As I got beyond the 2 mile marker, and ran the very runnable grassy path leading to the tyre tracks and Frank’s place, my head torch picked up some rain drops. I reached the tyre tracks and I took my head torch off which revealed the most definite drizzle. It was lovely. So refreshing. I felt so alive, so awake! I thought of morning routines and knew what I had to ask Kev for.

I reached the end of the lap, a full 2 minutes faster than my previous lap! Kev’s welcoming figure was easily visible in the dawn, waiting expectantly for me. He tried to hand me a towel but I declined, the rain felt nice on my body. I told him I was much better, he told me I was much faster. I passed him my head torch and said I was pleased to take it off and then immediately put my order in for porridge and a cup of tea on after my next lap. “But be sure to make it early so it’s cooled down enough for me! And I want a flannel and warm water for my face!” I found myself bossily demanding my morning routine to him.


Lap 11: 53 minutes and 26 seconds.

Distance covered: 46.75 miles

Runners left: 8


Lap 12 | 5am | Starters: 8

The birds were singing their morning chorus. The drizzle continued and I excitedly thought about the impact that would have on the tyre tracks. Mud and rain are what I train in. I’m a Blazer through and through, some of the others I felt sure would be really namby-pamby about the mud, not me! I raced down the hill, joy in my heart. Leaving men hobbling and groaning in my wake, their legs really seizing up and troubling them on the downhill sections now. It was becoming apparently obvious that training in the Welsh mountains had strengthened my legs. My stomach ache had gone, my legs and feet felt great. I thought ahead to the end of the lap, where porridge and tea would be waiting. My pace quickened through no extra effort. God I felt good.


I got to the tyre tracks and sure enough, by the end of them my feet were heavy and laden with mud. I’d managed to stomp it all off by the time I was a quarter of the way down the M25. I think it was this lap that I ran down the M25 with my arms outstretched, making airplane noises, I couldn’t resist!

I removed my sleeves as I went smiling up Lucy’s Hill and playfully swung them by my sides, humming to myself. I grinned as I saw Kev. I washed my face and greedily ate my porridge slurping my tea between mouthfuls, making ‘oo-ing’ and ‘ah-ing' noises all whilst exclaiming that this was the “best cup of tea in my life!”. I’d been caffeine free for two weeks now and this tea was exceptional. My bossiness continued and I said, “Next lap I’m going to wash with the flannel, put a clean teeshirt on, change my socks and shoes.” My feet were definitely soggy now due to the rain and the morning dew in the grass.

Lap 12: 54 minutes and 32 seconds.

Distance covered: 51 miles

Runners left: 7


Lap 13 | 6am | Starters: 7

Just before I crossed into the corral, Kev casually informed me that the other lady had retired. “What? You’re kidding? Say that again!” So he did. My heart swelled, well I wasn’t expecting that! Rachel was a strong runner and had been running extremely well, Kev noted that she had been slowing and was doing 50 minute laps now rather than her initial 47 and 48 minute laps. Apparently she had wanted to run 12 strong laps and then retire, that is exactly what she did.


I started the lap and immediately thought, “Oh no! I didn’t ask for another cup of tea!” My thoughts drifted to my friend Caroline, she would be up and awake now, preparing for her first ultra marathon, she was doing the Isle of Wight Challenge, something I had initially been doing back in 2020 but Covid had postponed it two further times. I moved my place from Isle of Wight to Jurassic Coast (where I finished 2nd lady) so that I would be able to compete at Backyard. I thought of Caroline on and off throughout this lap. It was a fantastic lap, in a great time too. Now my stomach was better, I could move more freely, I didn’t feel as though I was going faster, it was just easier to cover the ground without being hindered by an annoying knot if pain. There was Kev, his familiar tall shape just beyond the finish. A pattering of applause and a few, “Well done Lizzie”’s could be heard.

I enjoyed washing my back, tummy and armpits. I put on some deodorant, a clean and dry teeshirt and I removed my socks and shoes. A new layer of Vaseline over my toes, lovely fresh socks and a dry pair of shoes.


I eyeballed a cup of tea:

"Is that for me?”

“Yes.”

“I love you right now.”


I hadn’t managed to eat all of my porridge on the previous lap so I finished it off, I think I had a few more grapes too.


I asked Kev to put a message on Facebook to wish Caroline good luck, along with my friends Dave and Rich who were doing their second and first official ultras respectively, Race to the Stones. Their start times were all at 7am.


Lap 13: 50 minutes and 29 seconds.

Distance covered: 55.25 miles

Runners left: 6

Lap 14 | 7am | Starters: 6

As I stepped over the line, I had Caroline to one side, and Dave and Rich to the other. I knew that Caroline was thinking of me, we’d talked about it a lot on training runs together. I’d shown her how to use poles, something she’d need on the Isle of Wight Challenge, and something that was forbidden on a Backyard challenge. I would run the first hour of their ultras with them. There were’t too many of us now, just 5 guys and me. I felt ready to talk a bit to the others, after all, we may be together a while longer yet. I told the boys that I felt like a new person in my dry shoes, clean socks and teeshirt. I think Gazebo Tom and Charlie nodded in agreement that this was all good. I do recall thinking that I had’t pulled my right sock up enough, that there was a crinkle in it. I thought I’d fix it at the end of the lap. I didn’t, by then it was forgotten as my feet were soaking wet again. I do wonder if this was part of the issue that I would experience later on, on lap 20.


As I carried on I felt quite busy all of a sudden, there was a lot to do, first I needed to finish running this lap with Caroline, Dave and Rich and then after this lap, the Blaze crew would be on their way to the Saturday run session. I’d need to run with them for 2 laps. I also knew that my mum and dad were coming at lunchtime too. They needed to see me come in and go out a couple of times before they would head back home. My thoughts went to Ky, he was coming 11.30am tomorrow morning, hmmm. That’s a long way away, ok, don’t think of Ky! I had another great lap, I felt like I was getting stronger and quicker whereas the others were getting slower and weaker. I had this!


I chatted a lot to Charlie on this lap who I later named ‘Young Charlie’. We talked about flour, vegan and vegetarian eating, bread and the population/climate. He mentioned at some point about is wife, I stopped his chatter mid flow and said, “Wife? You are kidding me! You look about 14!” Cue a game of guess everyone’s ages and it turns out that our Young Charlie is a whopping 36 years old! He then gave us a blow-by-blow account of brothers’ and cousins’ hair coverage. Fascinating at the time, but as I write this, I am chuckling at all the weird and wonderful conversations that take place on the ultra trails.


The drizzle continued and the tyre tracks were getting stickier with the mud now. By the end of the tyre tracks my feet would be heavy with mud, I purposefully ran through the shallow puddles afterwards and made my foot strikes heavier so that by the time I’d come down the top part of the M25, my shoes were free from the mud.


There was another cup of tea waiting for me but I was thinking about food now, I asked for a rice pudding and in between shoving mouthfuls in exclaimed to Kev with a wild look in my eye, “I’m hungry!” "Good." he said.


Lap 14: 51 minutes and 44 seconds.

Distance covered: 59.50 miles

Runners left: 6

Lap 15 | 8am | Starters: 6

Waterproofs Sam and Mike seemed to be running together as a pair now. We exchanged a few pleasantries walking up the first hill, I mentioned that the second half of my crew was arriving at 24 hours, and that she was a sports massage therapist. I did enjoy the silence followed by nervous laughter, and then the boys asked if I would share her. No! She’d glare at them whilst massaging me! And then Young Charlie pointed out how she would be massaging everyone and bending their legs in the wrong direction, we were all laughing at the thought. I gave myslef the nickname of 'Windy Lizzie' as I burped, I must confess, I had been burping rather a lot!

Charlie complained about his ankle on this lap, he said it would be his last.

At 8.30am on the dot I commenced the Saturday morning run session with the Blaze gang, I wondered who their instructor was today and if they would be thinking of me too.

Lap 15: 52 minutes and 35 seconds.

Distance covered: 63.75miles

Runners left: 6

Lap 16 | 9am | Starters: 6

I was feeling so good, I knew I had a further hour until the Blaze run finished so I would be running with them again. I was surprised to see Young Charlie on the start line, he said he was feeling ok and was going to do “one more lap”. That’s all any of us can do.


I crossed the start line with my arms held wide, I felt incredible, “C’mon boys!” I shouted back to them!

Charlie had been struggling with his ankle and I passed him just before the tyre tracks, he was bent over fiddling with his shoe. I checked he was ok, which he said he was, and left him behind.


Blisters (Mike) said that this would be his last lap, he’d lost two toenails and had loads of blisters (hence the nickname).

Frank put an order in to his wife for Pot Noodles, which seemed like a good idea to me, so I put an order in to Kev for Super Noodles.

Lap 16: 53 minutes and 13 seconds.

Distance covered: miles

Runners left: 68 miles

Lap 17 | 10am | Starters: 6

Kev told me as I walked to the corral that Hannah was arriving at 11.30am, brilliant I thought, although my legs were still in surprising good shape, a bit of a thigh massage would go down a treat.


Young Charlie and Blisters were on the start line, I have to confess, I felt disappointed as both had said they were pulling out, but this is the game we were all playing.


I ate some Skittles and Hula Hoops. The Skittles were surprising hard to chew and I must have looked really dazed as Kev waved his hand in front of my face to see if I was still with it.


Lap 17: 54 minutes and 59 seconds.

Distance covered: 72.25 miles

Runners left: 5

Lap 18 | 11am | Starters: 5

As I walked to the corral I had a Hula Hoop in my mouth that would’t go. I kept chewing it and chewing it. I realise now in hindsight that the reason for this was because I had no saliva left. Something I will remember and consider in future ultra events.

5 of us gathered in the corral, we spotted Young Charlie on the wrong side of the line, “C’mon Charlie!” “No. I’m done” he said, he was finished. Charlie cheered us over the start. Blisters was still in, running with Waterproofs Sam and the pair of them looking strong. What was he playing at? I thought he’d lost two toenails?! The mind games had started.

I felt so excited to be seeing Hannah at the end of this lap, I knew she’d have her family with her, including Waffle the dog. The “what I want path” is the path immediately after the “do be do path”, I would chant in my head what I wanted. I just found myself repeating, “ma-ssage, ma-ssage, ma-ssage” And there was Hannah! A big grin on her face, holding my coat and there was her children, and Waffle, and Rob her husband! The noise was deafening as I walked up the hill, “Lizzie, Lizzie, Lizzie” there was cheering, barking and applause. I grinned and gave them all a thumbs up. I momentarily felt bad for the other competitors. Hannah lead me to our crew area, she said, “Look left!” there was my mum and dad!


Hannah gave my legs a rub, whilst my mum held my hand, my dad looked on looking very concerned. Hannah’s girls jumped up and down with excitement. I had some Coke and some water with electrolytes. I asked Hannah if I’d had some Coke, “Yes” she said, you’ve already had some. I think it was becoming tricky to think clearly and focus. Hannah’s daughter looked at Frank and said, “Are you going out again?” “Yes” he replied. I said to Hannah’s daughter, "The race doesn’t even begin until 24 hours, we just have a really long walk to the start line!"


As I stood on the inside of the corral, Hannah stood just on the outside and gave me a shoulder massage whilst her daughter took my coat off for me.

Lap 18: 54 minutes and 34 seconds.

Distance covered: 76.50miles

Runners left: 5

Faccombe Backyard Ultra crew
Backup crew arrives! Hannah & Kevin a formidable team

Lap 19 | 12pm | Starters: 5

I was experiencing what it must be like to be an Olympic athlete now, I had a full fan club. The roaring cheers were incredible as the 5 second count down began, I flew down the first hill, the cheers and screams and my name filled my head, this was amazing! I had a great lap but I also had a sudden urge to do a poo. Oh no, this was annoying! I was quite desperate and even considered going in the bushes but of course I didn’t have a loo roll with me! I spent a few minutes wondering what everyone would think of me if I ended up pooing my pants. It was a pretty urgent situation. I finally got to the “what I want path” and chanted with every foot stroke, “I need a poo. I need a poo.” As soon as Kev and Hannah were within earshot I shouted to them, “Kev, get me the wet wipes!” He passed them to Hannah who gave them to me as I reached her.


I came out of the Portaloo feeling much more comfortable, Hannah had prepared some Spaghetti Hoops for me. I ate about half and then got distracted by something else, I think it was a drink. Hannah waved Quorn cocktail sausages, flapjacks and jam tarts in front of my face and told me I needed to choose two and take them on to the lap. I chose the sausages and flapjacks, she crammed each hand full and sent me to the start line.


Lap 19: 52 minutes and 32seconds.

Distance covered: 80.75 miles

Runners left: 5

Faccombe Backyard Ultra
Setting off on lap 19 - Faccombe Back Yard Ultra

Lap 20 | 1pm | Starters: 5

As I crossed into the coral, Hannah said, “Don’t you dare chuck them into the bushes!” I smirked, the naughty part of me thought, “Oh, I hadn’t thought of that, good idea!” but I also knew that I would regret it and would not be able to forgive myself for letting her down. I was definitely going to eat them all!


I started running and immediately regretted my choice of food, my food was dry, as was my mouth, this was going to be a challenge to eat these two handfuls of food. I felt glad for the long walk ahead up the hill, I’d have plenty of time to chew and find a way to swallow it. I started my way up the hill and began to eat the food. The arch of my right foot suddenly throbbed in agony. What was going on? I did a bit of a body check (how is my other foot, how are my calfs, how are my thighs?) and everything seemed in order but my right foot most definitely was extremely painful. I decided not to worry as I still had my long walk, it was perhaps a cramp or a burst blister and I felt sure the pain would subside. Gazebo Tom passed by and I was now the last, not usually a concern but Gazebo Tom looked like he was moving quite slowly. I reached the second gate at the top of the hill and began my run. Ow ow ow ow ow ow! What was this? I couldn’t run! It hurt sooooooo much! I walked. Ok, I’ll do a speed walk and then run in a minute. But every time I tried to run, it hurt too much. I tried to walk fast but I didn’t seem to be covering the ground that much. I have never experienced the 'death march' that Kev talks about, I had an awful feeling this was it. I continued trying to run, realising I couldn’t and then doing a weird shuffle walk with as much speed as I could. I then started worrying about the time. When my watch showed 30 minutes, I was a long way off the 2 mile marker, which was also my 30 minute marker. My heart sank. I would be timed out. Even if I managed to run, there would not be enough time. I burst into tears, I had been doing so well, I had been so consistent, so strong, my mind was mostly in a great place, and my legs still felt they had more to give, if it just wasn’t for this awful pain in my foot.


There was nothing more I could do, I had given my all and this would be my final lap whether I liked it or not. I stopped crying and I smiled. I’d done it! I’d actually done it! My goal had been simple, don’t give up, finish with a strong mind. I hadn’t given up, there was certainly no shame in getting timed out because I physically could not complete the lap quick enough. I knew there was no point hurrying, I would complete this final lap at a walk. I would say goodbye to each and every part, I ran my fingers through the long grass, I imprinted the views in my mind. I thought back through previous laps, people I had spoken to and friends who I had 'run' with from Blaze.


As I reached the M25 I knew that it would not be long until the 3 minute whistle went. I thought of everyone at the finish, expectantly waiting for me to round the corner and beat the whistle. I hoped that my mum and dad would not be worried. I started up Lucy’s Hill. I thought I heard someone call my name but I wasn’t sure. I didn’t want to shout in case they heard me and thought I had collapsed somewhere. I continued my way up, grinning at this silly hill, the last time I’d be going up it. I definitely heard my name this time, and it was Hannah’s voice. Hannah and Kev rounded the corner, “I’m fine! I’m ok! I’ve just hurt my foot!” they rushed down and I burst into happy tears as Hannah and I had the biggest cuddle ever. “I did it! I did it! I didn’t give up! I did it!”, Kev was probably looking on thinking I was having a ‘girly moment’. I was, but I didn’t care! They turned and we carried on making our way up Lucy's Hill. Hannah exclaimed, “Crikey is this the hill you’ve been doing each lap?!” “Yup!” And do you know what? I smiled every single time I went up that hill thanks to the mindset session I did with my friend Lucy. A car came down to offer me a lift back to the finish, I declined, I was completing this lap within the rules, I had considered picking up a stick earlier to help me walk, but that was against the rules. I was completing lap 20 no matter what!


We finally crossed the line an hour and eighteen minutes after I’d started the 20th lap. Well and truly timed out. There was cheering and clapping, Gazebo Tom gave me a big hug, he had fallen to his knees as he’d crossed the line just inside of the whistle and retired. Frank, Blisters and Waterproofs Sam were still on the course. I had a huge cuddle with my dad, then my mum. I saw my friend Lucie and I laughed, “I’m, sorry you’ve come to watch me fail!” “I didn’t watch you fail, I watched the last lady standing cross the line. You’re a winner!” (I have great friends!) I sat down, Kev took my shoes and socks off and I put my feet in a bowl of water, I couldn’t stop smiling. Race director Mark handed me my DNF souvenir and told me he thought I was going to win it. Now that I had stopped, the exhaustion swept through my body and I felt well and truly finished, but very, very happy.

Would I do it again? In a heartbeat. I’ve learned a few lessons and next time I’ll be the one and only finisher.

Lap 20: 1 hour 18 minutes and 25 seconds - timed out

Distance covered: 85 miles

Runners left: 3


Lead up: I entered Linkenholt Backyard (to now be known as Faccombe Backyard) a couple of days after completing the Jurassic Coast Challenge so I only had around 6 weeks to prepare. I knew that I was physically fit but there was an awful lot of mental preparation I could do. I did however do a 40 mile walk with my friend Sarah to get used to time on feet at a slower pace. I also went to Wales with Kevin to recce day 2 of the Dragon’s Back race. My friend Lucy is a mindset coach so she kindly gifted me some time and gave me an excellent session which I feel proved invaluable. I refrained from caffeine and alcohol 2 weeks ahead of the race and I ensured I got 9 hours sleep most nights in that 2 week period leading up to the event.


Morning preparations: I had great night’s sleep, my usual porridge for breakfast with a banana, jam and mixed berries. I had homemade potato wedges for lunch with homemade dip and spent the morning mostly relaxing with my chickens and watching a bit of TV. Kev came at 12.30pm to pack the car with my things and we arrived at Faccombe just before 2pm. Kev set everything up, I rested whilst he did everything and I had a meal at 3.45pm of tofu, noodles and vegetables.

Faccombe Backyard Ultra
Resting before I begin my first Backyard Ultra

What was in my aid station?

Hot food:

  • Porridge (for breakfast)

  • Super noodles

  • Rice pudding

  • Mashed potato with Spaghetti Hoops

Cold food:

  • Pesto pasta

  • Cheese & onion pasty

  • Red pepper hummus, guacamole & cheese wraps

  • Pitta bread & hummus

  • Quorn sausages

Fruit:

  • Watermelon

  • Grapes

  • Bananas

Snacks:

  • Crisps (Hula Hoops and Walkers)

  • Cake (malt loaf, mini cupcakes, jam tarts)

  • Sweets (Starburst & Skittles)

  • Mixed fruit & nuts

  • Nakd bars

  • Flapjacks

Stomach settling

  • crystallised ginger

  • gin gins

Boredom

  • mints

Electrolytes/salt/caffeine:

  • hydration tablets for water

  • dextrose

  • Cliff energy ‘bloks’

  • Coke Cola

Faccombe Backyard Ultra aid station
My crew Kev relaxing before Faccombe Backyard Ultra begins

What I wore: Saucony Ultra ST, Stance socks, Garmin Forerunner 35 for Strava, Casio digital watch for time, buff, Sweaty Betty power leggings, Hardwolds 80 finisher teeshirt (to show everyone how tough I am!), Dirty Girl gaiters, Silva Scout 2XT head torch, OMM arm sleeves.


Summary: This was the Strictly Come Dancing version of ultra running, it was all there, the family feeling, the community, the shared goals, the teamwork, the highs, the lows and the unfathomable support. I feel humbled to have had the opportunity to run and be a part of this incredible event. I feel proud of my achievements and would definitely do it again. I felt on such a high for days afterwards!


Faccombe Backyard Ultra Strava statistics
Faccombe Backyard Ultra Strava

Lessons learned:

  • mouth runs out of saliva, take wet food where chewing is minimal.

  • change socks on a more regular basis, I think every 6 hours would be good.

  • no need to take so many clothes, no time to change!

  • various food is definitely good, and no harm in over catering.

Results

Laps completed: 19 (timed out on lap 20)

Official miles: 80.75 (19 x 4.25 mile laps)

Total miles: 86.45 (20 laps plus going from finish to start)

Overall: 5/34

Female: 1st


Waterprooofs Sam and Blisters retired after 24 hours, leaving Frank to complete the 25th lap as the finisher.


You can listen to the podcast by Aid Station on this event here.

Last lady standing Faccombe Backyard Ultra Lizzie Gatherer, Elizabeth Gatherer
Last lady standing Faccombe Backyard Ultra

136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page