top of page
  • Writer's pictureultramadlizzie

The Fox Ultra - Race Report

Updated: May 21, 2023

Date: Saturday 19th September 2020

Official miles: 38 miles

Strava says: 40.01 miles

Elevation: 2,319 ft / 707 m

Weather: very hot and sunny

Start: Godalming

Route type: circular

Conditions: dry, hard ground

Website link: The Fox Ultra by ATT Events


Describe the route in three words: mostly flat, fast

The Fox Ultra start
The Fox Ultra start line

The Fox Ultra - Race Report

I am my own worst enemy really, my excitement for this race meant I did not get a wink of sleep the night before, my lack of sleep was perhaps the reason I missed a turning within the first mile which resulted in an additional 2 miles. I also ran into a low tree branch which nearly knocked me out, I hit it so hard that my hat and sunglasses flew off my head and I grazed my ear! Aside from these adventures, I felt like a had a pretty good race.

I arrived in good time for my registration slot, the great thing about Covid secure races is that less people on the start line equals no queues for the toilet! I went into the Godalming United Church within my registration start window, got my number and timing chip and made my way to the start, again, no queue and I was counted down to start 45 seconds after the person in front of me. Grinning ear to ear, my long awaiting race around The Fox Way began.


It was so tempting to start fast along the flat canal path and my body was full of excitable energy. I kept checking my pace and made sure I didn’t over-cook it. After a few minutes I reached a bridge where a number of things happened. A pair of runners pulled to one side to let a dog walker past, said dog walker pulled to the other side to let me go past, and I sailed on by quite oblivious to the directional arrow that the dog walker was standing in front of. After a while I felt as through there should perhaps be another arrow, I reached a bridge and thought that there definitely should be an arrow. I waited for the two guys behind me to catch up and they felt confident we should all carry on. We did. And then a gang of around 30 runners rounded the corner running TOWARDS us. Oh dear. Some of the poor soles had made it all the way to Shalford before realising their mistake. I retraced my steps and ran with a very pro-looking lady, she was wearing a Fitstuff tee shirt so we chatted about how great a shop it is before we crossed over the bridge where the dog walker had been and headed up a narrow windy track. I struggled for a bit with my frustration, I knew I’d run an extra 2 miles or so, I was set on completing this race in around the 7 hour mark. I spent some time thinking about what to do to make time up and forced myself to think positively. My plan was to eat every 5 miles, I had all provisions with me so would only need aid stations for water re-fills. Normally I would walk when I eat but I decided to continue running when I ate at 5 miles in the hope I could make up some time. I approached the first aid station at Checkpoint 1 (7.5 km) Blackheath and realised there was nothing I really needed, I paused for a cup of cola but was out of there quick-smart. I got my poles out for a bit as the ground had become sandy. There really is no need for poles on this race but I wanted to practice with them ahead of Witty which would be in 3 weeks time.


There was a fab hill at Silent Pool Gin, a great opportunity to use my poles. I felt confident catching up with and then passing another lady who was leaning forward and pressing her hands down on to her thighs. There are many plus points to poles, one of which is they force you into an upright running position which in turn allows more oxygen in. I popped them back into my quiver at the top of the hill and carried on.

It was a VERY hot day and this perhaps affected my tummy as I was hydrating a lot more than I would normally, I was very conscious of what I might be sweating out so really was taking care to drink little and often. Before reaching checkpoint 2 at Clandon I ran alongside two guys with poles, we had a conversation about our poles and I proudly told them that I had trained hard for this and ‘had a plan’ - which was to run at 9 minute miles whenever I was on the flat. They seemed impressed and said that they would not be able to stay with me for long. Sure enough, I soon left them behind (and soon realised my plan was nuts!).

I was taken aback as Checkpoint 2 (20 km) Clandon Train Station rolled into sight, I couldn’t believe I was there already, great timing as I did need a wee so dashed in and out, grabbed a cup of cola and carried on. I caught up with the guys I had been chatting to earlier and overtook them again, not for the last time either! My yo-yo pattern is something I perhaps need to chat to other ultra runners about. I generally run the whole way but at every 5 mile point will walk and eat for a short while. This means I will pass and be passed by the same runners again and again who seem to just carry on and never stop, I need to find out what their technique is.

I was feeling somewhat nauseous in the heat and tried a Gin Gin. Coach Kevin from my running club is an experienced ultra runner and had told me that ginger is great for settling the stomach. Personally I hate ginger but I thought it would be worth a try. I tentatively unwrapped it, took a deep breath and shoved the whole piece into my mouth. I can’t say it was at all tasty, but it worked a treat! My stomach instantly settled and I ran on marvelling at its disgusting taste yet soothing effects. I came into Checkpoint 3 (27.5 km) Ripley Green and got a cup of cola and a water top up, cursing myself that I had my hydration tablets in the main pocket of my snack pack, not exactly easy access so I had a bit of a faff getting one out (and putting the others in an easy access pocket).

I remember at mile 20 feeling a bit fatigued, it wasn’t helped by a lady who came zooming by, I told myself that she was a marathon runner and not an ultra runner (whether that was the case or not I don’t know but it made me feel better). It was just so blooming hot! I decided to have a slightly longer walk and after my sandwich I took a selfie which I texted to my mum, husband and friends and read all my Facebook good luck messages. I remembered another tip from coach Kevin which was to eat a mint. I popped one in my mouth and set off again. All of this worked, the mint refreshed me and cleared my head and the contact with loved ones changed my frame of mind.

The Fox Ultra route
Feeling fatigued at mile 20 so sent a selfie to my family and friends

Checkpoint 4 (38.5 km) Worplesdon Train Station was the half marathon start and my mind wandered to my new friend Carl, today was his 73rd half marathon in as many days, he was running 100 half marathons in 100 days, raising money for Help for Heroes and SAAFA.


Coming up to the final third of the race and just before the final checkpoint I noticed that I was stumbling and tripping more often and generally being clumsy, a sure sign that I was tiring. I crossed a wooden bridge and tripped over something, if it hadn’t been for a fence rail to my right I would have face planted. I marvelled at the fact I did not get a single splinter as my hand slid along the wooden rail breaking my fall. I decided then that it was time to get the poles out and keep them out.


I reached the final Checkpoint 5 (50 km) Flexford and had another wee. I replenished my water and popped in a hydration tablet. I caught up with a chap who was doing his first marathon. He reminded me of myself actually. Really confident in his abilities (a bit too much so) and really naive! I go into every race literally thinking I am going to win it. I always make massive mistakes - overcooking it early on; going the wrong way; not prepared. Of course I never actually win anything, but when I cross the line I feel as though I have won because I am so proud of myself. He was clearly struggling but he seemed keen to stick with me for a while, he was delighted when I walked for a hill and he walked with me. We set off again as it flattened out and he told me of his 10km times - sub 32 minutes I think he said. It didn’t make sense to me, how can he be that quick at a 10km but this tired half way through a marathon? It turned out he had achieved this time 12 years ago. After a while I did have to leave him behind but happy I had helped take his mind off his race for a bit, he was struggling but I knew that he was going to be exceptionally proud of himself when he crossed the line.

The Fox Ultra route
The Fox Ultra

I soon found myself running with a fellow lady, I’m not sure if she caught me or I caught her but we seemed to be evenly matched in pace. We chatted about ultras and it was clear from what she was saying that she was experienced. She, like me, had gone wrong at the beginning but already nearing the 40 mile marker she had gone a lot further out of the way than I. I slowed to a walk for a hill and then realised I was about to hit 38 miles (this is what the race would have been if I had not gone wrong) so I broke back into a run to make sure I was running when I hit the 38 mile marker. When I did, I checked my watch and was delighted to see I was on 7 hours 2 minutes. I had achieved my goal of 38 miles at the 7 hour marker, I was made up! I ended up staying with the lady until the finish, she was running fractionally faster than what I would have been doing on my own so I thought it would be great to push myself and stay with her. It was mentally hard knowing that I had completed the distance but yet to cross the line, harder still that I didn’t really know how much extra I had done so I couldn’t guess how much further I had until the finish. I did find the last 2 miles really tough, this does seem to be a pattern of mine, it doesn’t matter the distance, the final 2 miles are horrid. We came into Godalming the way that I had driven so I knew it couldn’t be too far to go. The finish line suddenly lurched into view and I beamed from ear to ear as I crossed it.

The Fox Ultra finish line
The Fox Ultra finish line Shot!

What’s in the snack pack?

3x cheese and pickle sandwiches

2x bars

Flapjack

1x Malt Loaf bar

Gin Gins

Mints

2x 500ml bladders water - 1 plain, 1 with Hi 5

Spare Hi 5 tabs

OMM ultra flexi cup

Vasaline

Safety pins

Compeed, plasters, surgical tape, spare socks

Harrier Helvellyn Carbon Z-Poles and quiver

Whistle

Survival blanket


What I wore: Saucony Peregrine 10 ST, Garmin Forerunner 35, sun cap, sunglasses, buff, Decathlon shorts with inner cycling shorts, Hart Road Runners vest, Dirty Girl gaiters, Salomon Adv Skin 12 running vest.


Lead up:

I had done an enormous amount of training during lockdown. During the strict lockdown period I was doing 3 online Blaze workouts a week which was great for strength and conditioning, along with 20 minutes of stretching (legs and glutes) a minimum of 6 times a week and various run sessions throughout the week. My runs consisted of 2x 1 mile efforts with a 2 mile warm up and cool down; hill sprints; long runs; long hilly runs and numerous fast 10kms where I consistently beat my previous time.

As lockdown progressed - I participated in a few virtual challenges with my running club which meant pushing myself to meet target times over set distances. I completed a sprint duathlon with fellow Blaze members; a 30 mile self supported ultra; a 43 mile ultra along the Basingstoke canal and a 100 mile training week. I did a couple of cycle rides too. We were also able to return to group training sessions at Blaze which was fantastic, I was greeted on my arrival to my first session back with a compliment to my leg muscles which I must admit, I felt extremely chuffed!

As the Fox approached, I did 5x PT sessions with Peggy to improve my back strength and had smashed out a 10km PB 2 weeks prior to the event date.

The two days before were rest days with 30 minutes stretching and 10 minutes back strengthening with my kettlebells. I ate 5 meals each day.


I did not feel I could do any more to be ready for this long awaiting event!


Morning preparations:

I got up early enough to allow time to stretch and have a breakfast of 40g porridge, 200ml Alpro Oat milk, frozen berries and a dollop of jam stirred through. I must admit, I hadn’t had a wink of sleep the night before as I was just so excited!


Summary

An ideal route for someone’s first ultra as it is mostly flat. The Fox Way circumnavigates Guildford via Godalming, Shere, Clandon, Ripley, Worplesdon, and Puttenham. There were 2 significant hills. The checkpoints were well positioned, there were Portaloos at each and the course was well marked. The covid secure start was extremely well managed.

Lessons learned

  • Hydration tablets must be in an easy to reach pocket.

  • Pay attention to the trail and keep an eye out for directional arrows at every potential turning/bridge/crossroad.

  • Hot weather will result in more fluids taken on board which in turn will lead to more toilet stops and potential stomach cramps.

Results

Chip time: 7hr 18m 59s

Strava time: 6hr 25m 55s

Overall: 116/211

Female open: 11th


The Fox Ultra 2020 - click here for results

The Fox Ultra medal
The Fox Ultra - 11th Lady (open)

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page