top of page
  • Writer's pictureultramadlizzie

A Run With No Witty Name - Race Report

Updated: May 21, 2023

Date: Saturday 10th October 2020

Official miles: 32 miles

Strava says: 32.68 miles

Elevation: 3,823 ft / 1,165 m

Weather: sunny

Start: Tisbury

Route type: circular

Conditions: moist underfoot, occasionally slippy

Website link: A Run With No Witty Name by Crooked Tracks Wiltshire


Describe the route in three words: stunning scenery, undulating

A Run With No Witty Lane Finisher
A Run With No Witty Lane - Finisher

A Run With No Witty Name - Race Report

Race director Neil had done a fabulous job leading up to the event with some really witty Facebook posts on the event page, he had posted photos of the route in the days leading up to it which all helped to raise my excitement levels! The other runners on the Facebook event page kept posting about their desire for rain and mud, but to be perfectly honest with you, I got a lifetime of that on the Hardwolds 80 back in November so I was extremely pleased to see the sunny gap with rain on the days either side on the weather report coincided with race day. And it did not disappoint! What a fabulous drive down! I set off beneath a clear starry sky and drove through the most mystical sunrise, I arrived to melting frost onto ground, warm sun on my face against the October chill, a tea and coffee tent and three clean and well stocked Portaloos. I registered with the secretary and received my bib, number 1! Hurrah! I felt like I was an elite runner! I had actually been on the waiting list for this run so I guess whoever’s spot I had taken had been very quick off the mark in entering!

Covid running, covid racing
Covid measures in place

My start wave was 7.30am, there should have been 30 of us on the start line but it seems far fewer, I think the tea and coffee tent had captured some of the other starters. We set off and due to so few starting, I only had about 3 runners in front of me for the first mile, I was truly getting the elite experience what with this front of field positioning and bib number 1! It wasn’t long though until others passed me and I found my comfortable pace.


I had run The Fox Ultra 3 weekends prior which I had trained hard for so I knew that I would be in good shape to run this although most likely slower due to my muscles still being fatigued. My plan was to go for a jolly rather than compete but I was hoping for around the 6 hours 30 minute mark.

The route was stunning and my face hurt from smiling! The start wound round the edges of some fields before skipping through a wood, watching out for rocks and tree roots as the path twisted and rose up and down. Early on a lovely lady called Suzanne from Cheddar caught up with me and I quickened my pace a little so we could run together and chat. I knew she’d be leaving me behind at some point but it was nice to swap ultra stories for a while. I was surprised to look at my Garmin and see we were already at the 6 mile marker, I said my goodbyes and slowed to a walk so I could eat some pretzels, good timing as there was a hill and I knew I’d be foolish to maintain her pace up it. A couple of miles later Suzanne overtook me having taken a wrong turn, so far I had navigated my way successfully which I was feeling pleased about, I do have a habit of getting lost! I ate a cheese and pickle sandwich at mile 10 where two gentlemen sped past me, they really were going like the clappers so I did wonder if they had got lost too as they had started the same wave as I.


I was still quite happily skipping along when the sight you never want to see appeared round a bend, a fellow competitor running towards me! We had a quick check round together, exploring a little way through a gate and a long a path and then I enquired as to exactly how far he’d got across the field before turning around, turns out not very far and we had been on the right track all along. He then followed behind me for a while until I lead him all the way to the bottom of a hill before realising I had gone the wrong way - whoops! We traipsed back up the surprising steep slope and then saw another competitor hugging the edge of the field. We followed behind her for a while and I caught up with her at a steep stony path. I whipped my Harrier z-poles out and felt very smug as I steamed past her, only my second time out with poles and I don’t know how I managed without them. Oh, I remember now…. I didn’t! (See Hardwolds 80 race report.)


I soon reached mile 15 and slowed to a walk so I could return the poles to the quiver and I have my snack, the lady and the lost-but-not-really-lost gentleman passed me and we wished each other well. At around the 21/22 mile point I encountered a free range chicken farm, I marvelled at how happy these girls were, sunbathing on the slope leading up to the barn and frolicking on a hilly tussock, racing up and down. They looked like very content girls and made all the happy noises my girls make.


The next stretch must have been a popular walking route as I passed many people, including a young lady pushing a buggy with a baby in, I nearly called out “Rather you than me!” and then chuckled as comments like these are usually coming from the walkers and directed to to ultra runners!

Free range hens Tisbury
Free range hens enjoying the sun

I continued happily along the route, there were three checkpoints in all, I stopped at each one for a cup of cola, half a banana at the second and a bag of cheese and onion crips at the third. The wind really picked up after the third one and my hair was driving me mad, I managed to break my hair band re-tying it back up but tied a know in it and it was fine. Funny though, I always carry a spare hair band for this very reason, just not today! After a while I suddenly realised I was in familiar territory, I hadn't realised that the last part of the route entailed re-tracing your steps, I have to admit, I loved this! It meant I knew exactly how far I had until I reached the finish and it was fun recognising all the sections I’d seen that morning. I was soon running down the fired towards the finish line and crossed to cheers and applause form the marshals. There was a lovely wooden dog tag medal and a vegan hotpot with a big hunk of bread, I sat in the sunshine happily munching this and clapping for other runners as they came through. A few stretches later I was on my way home. A fantastic day out, I really enjoyed this route.

What’s in the snack pack?

2x cheese and pickle sandwiches

2x 5 large pretzels

2x bars

Sugar coated stemmed ginger

Mints

2x 500ml bladders water - 1 plain, 1 with Hi 5

Spare Hi 5 tabs

Gloves

Hat

Innov8 Trailshell waterproof jacket

Long sleeved spare layer

Vasaline

Safety pins

Compeed, plasters, surgical tape, space socks

OMM ultra flexi cup

Harrier Helvellyn Carbon Z-Poles and quiver

Head torch (mandatory but didn’t need)

Whistle

Survival blanket


What I wore: Saucony Ultra ST, Garmin Forerunner 35, buff, Sweaty Betty power leggings, Inov8 long sleeved top, Blaze tee shirt, Dirty Girl gaiters, Salomon Adv Skin 12 running vest.


Lead up:

The two days before were rest days with 30 minutes stretching and 10 minutes back strengthening with my kettlebells. I ate 5 meals each day. I had previously competed in The Fox 3 weeks prior so was in good shape.

Morning preparations:

Breakfast was the usual 40g porridge with 200ml Alpro Oat milk, frozen berries stirred through and a dollop of jam. There would be a long gap between eating breakfast and starting as I had to wake at 5.15am so I could depart at 6am for the 1 hour 10 minute drive to be here for my 7.30am start wave - because of this I decided to have a second breakfast just before I left of two pieces of toast with jam. I also did not fit in my usual 30 minutes of stretches but I did have a bit of a stretch in the car park.


Summary

The perfect race, my nutrition was spot on, no stomach cramps, no need to use the toilet during the race, felt great throughout and the following day I did not have DOMs.


Lessons learned

Not too much for me to take away from this one as everything seems to be spot on. Pack a spare hairband and pay attention to the route so I don’t go off course.


Results

Gun time: 6hr 26m 02s

Strava time: 6hr 25m 55s

Overall: 34/127

Lady: 12th


A Run with No Witty Name 2020 - click here for results

Strava route A Run With No Witty Name
Strava route - A Run With No Witty Name


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page